Bibbety bobbety boo...It now looks old but once was new :)

in #guns6 years ago

Over the last several weeks a mate of mine has been doing some paint work for me; It's not your typical run of the mill painting though, he's been cerakoting one of my rifles. Cerakote is a polymer-ceramic coating that get's sprayed onto metals and plastics and then baked to a super-hard coating. It improves abrasion, corrosion and impact resistance so is widely used in the military and other environments and industries where a hard-wearing finish is advantageous. The main reason I have had it done to this rifle is that the rifle gets reasonably abused by the user (me) and I wanted some of the protective qualities of the cerakote to help with it's longevity.

I finally got the gun back [in about 68 pieces] and went to work putting it together which took a little longer than expected. I had planned to take it to the cattle farm I shoot on and grab some pictures of it out in the field however ran out of light so I took some today in my back yard. I'll get some better ones next week at the farm however for those who have been waiting for a look at the rifle here's a few now. You'll note I have not got the scope or any optics mounted as yet...A work in progress at the moment as I don't want to mount my Kahles 624i on it. I'm still deliberating choices for the scope; Maybe a second Kahles624i I suppose.


Before...


After...

You'll note that it looks worn and damaged which is exactly what I wanted it to look like. I asked my mate to make it looked f^cked up and although he did I would have liked it a little more so. Oh well, I'll have to add the additional "character" through use. I'm very happy with the end result and happier that I got it back together with no parts left over. I have test-fired it also [with two rounds] and it goes bang so that's a good thing. Oh, you may also notice the folding stock hinge is still black. I did this intentionally as I plan to buy a new [after-market] barrel shroud which I will leave black. That way I can swap it out if required and the black shroud, hinge, but pad and scope will balance out. That's the idea anyway.

I understand that it might not be everyone's choice of design, in fact, I have a mate who hates it although he appreciates the work that's involved. He's more of a one-colour sort of guy and to be honest I have been until now also. This is the first time I've had a rifle cerakoted more than one colour and also made to look old and I'm pretty sure it won't be the last. I am building up a 22LR trainer-rifle which I am hoping to put a distressed Australian flag design onto. We'll see. All I know is that it is unlikely the rifle will stay in it's factory colour.

So, there you have it, for those who have messaged me with their interest in the final product...Here it is. I'm happy with it and am looking forward to taking the rifle out and getting some more images out in the field as well as sending some lead downrange.

[- Design and create your ideal life, don’t live it by default -]

Sort:  

Cracking design! Get it. Really am a fan of that look though, it’s as if it’s lived a long eventful life like an old veteran who knows the whims of all his targets. The black additions sound snazzy too- do people say snazzy these days? Seriously immaculate work has gone in to that. Definitely want to see the 22LR trainer-rifle when that’s done!

Hey @stuffing, thanks for your comments. I’m really please how it came out! It resembles its old weather-beaten operator now (me). I haven’t had any negative comments yet so that’s a good thing. Well, only that one mate who hates it but he’s a dick. :) Not really.

Thanks for commenting.

I love the scratched up design you had your buddy put on the rifle, and those red accents really pop. I bet that rifle is a dream to shoot, beautiful build! thanks for sharing it

Thanks mate, much appreciTed. Yes, it shoots really well. Once I did the load development on it I got it out to 1551m repeatedly. I can get it further but with a lower percentage of hits of course. It’s 6.5mm Creedmoor.

Looks good, I bet you’re glad to have gotten it all back together with nothing left over!

Ah yes, there was some stress but it all worked out. I had one spring left over actually and couldn’t work out where it went but when I spoke to my mate he confessed he threw it in to “mess with my head.” Good mate huh? :) Never mind, he’ll get some payback at some stage.

Haha! That’s funny - but yeah good mate! At least he confessed 😊 ... love the title of the article by the way

Haha, yeah. Me and my titles. They just come to me out of nowhere. :)

Your mate did an absolutely phenomenal job on this rifle! The battle worn design is perfect for this weapon and I would be pleased at the outcome as well.

I definitely think you should move forward with the distressed flag theme on the other rifle for sure. Thanks for sharing!

He did didn’t he! He’s just in the process of messaging me images of some of the muscle cars he’s painted in his day. The guy knows how to paint for sure!

Good evening mate. Thanks for the show and tell, it looks great, must say I love it. It has that rugged, well used, but still in great working order look. Not going to compliment you on getting it back together cause I told you that you would.

When you have the 22 done post a pic or two. Hope you guys have had a great day and lovely evening ahead.

Thanks mate. I’m please how it came out. Just got home after a night out at a friends house for dinner. Kinda tired now but had a good night. Hope all is well your way. Catch ya around mate. Have a good one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65054.60
ETH 3558.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35