Devil Gundam: Movable Thumb Mechanism [Hand Scratch Build - Part 33]

in #gundam6 years ago

Hi guys!

Today I will combine the thumb and the hand on my Project Devil Gundam.

This is how the hand will look like (sort of) when I'm done

20180210_Project Devil Gundam 11.png

Drill holes for points of rotation for the thumb

20180210_Project Devil Gundam 12.png
Make sure the holes fit nicely with the pla rod otherwise the hand won't hold properly. It would just flop like a dead fish handshake.

Pla rod test fit

20180210_Project Devil Gundam 13.png

Thumb test fit

20180210_Project Devil Gundam 14.png

Comparison with my own hand

20180210_Project Devil Gundam 15.png
At this point I'm think what if I make even smaller hands? How hard will it be?

Test with with the cover of the hand

20180210_Project Devil Gundam 16.png

Cementing them carefully

20180210_Project Devil Gundam 17.png
I made sure I don't cement any joints or points of rotation. Will let this cure properly overnight. I will connect the ball joints after I clean up the hands.

I am very pleased with the hand scratch build so far. I will certainly detail this hand later. My goal is to make sure that the Devil Gundam is done from top to bottom before I go into detailing.

As for this hand scratch build, all I had was one picture for reference.

Hand scratch build by unknown modeller

Scratch build gundam hand.jpg
Source: google image

Keep on building! Keep on steeming! Have a nice day!

Sort:  

Interesting post my friend. I see a lot of useful things in it @devytan

Thank you Sir!

I'm thinking this post could help some gunpla modellers who are trying to start scratch building so I started documenting the whole process of my modifications.

Since so far usually people post before and after comparisons only. And it costs you money for the detailed step by step guide.

It will be great if we can start a gunpla community on Steemit to share knowledge and techniques.

Cheers!

People who liked this post also liked:

တျဖည္းျဖည္း စုေငြေလးေတြ စုၾကည့္ၾကမယ္ by @moethet

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59