Guitars - broke a string

in #guitar7 years ago

I'm a little bit miffed at the moment as I managed to break a string in the process of changing the strings. What a fool!

20180121_173209.jpg

Excuse the messy carpet! It really could do with a good vacuum and shampoo but it tends to get ignored as it's my man cave :)

Here we have my Kimbara Stratocaster copy which holds a very dear place in my heart and is now known as the "Hamburgcaster". This was the first electric guitar I owned and my dad (now departed) bought it for me for me when I was 12 or 13. I don't recall if it was a birthday or Christmas gift now but I do recall it was kept in the spare room under the bed and I kept sneaking in to play it.

It was renamed as the stickers are from a friend who lives in Hamburg and I updated the guitar following a trip with @steevc and others back in 2010. The pickguard and knobs used to be white and I've also replaced the pickups.

It feels pretty heavy for a strat - I think the body is sen ash but don't quote me on it.

I'll have to head into town tomorrow for another set of strings and may even treat it to a new strap

Sort:  

i f***in hat that - it happens once in a while
whats worse is when you play an outdoor gig at the ocean and the salt air eats through a set of strings for each set you play
good thing I buy strings in bulk ;)

It happens, especially if you are in a rush! Cool guitar! What kind of music do you play?

Very simple music :) I've had guitars year but never taken learning particularly seriously; I just love brain dead idle noodling. I like to listen to Hendrix, Bonamassa , Floyd, Dire Straits so strumming versions of those kind of songs.

Awesome. I hope to post on a lot of the music you like!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75