You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm going to make my biggest purchase thanks to steemit in the next day or two...

in #guitar7 years ago

I like your choice in brands.. I own all the big named acoustics and electric.. but I think I play my Yamaha more than my Gibson or Martin...7 strings would be quite a commitment - I have a 12 string Guild that I should donate to someone.. I hate that guitar... hate my Gibson too.. but i'll never sell.. like bitcoin ;)

Sort:  

I have a 12 string as well, don't recall the brand as I don't play it much. I have an old Guild Nylon 6 string I play probably more than my current electric. I have two other 6 string acoustics. My electric is a beat up B.C. Rich Warlock that someone traded me for fixing their computer many years ago and it had issues, which my father and I fixed before he passed away, so even though it isn't a great guitar it has a lot of sentimental value.

Now I need something of higher quality. I've never tried out a Schecter and I'd really like to. I'd also really like to try an Ormsby as they are doing some interesting things, but they are not available in many places outside of Australia, and I live in the U.S. I've played quite a few Jacksons and ESPs and they would sing for me, so I've always thought I would go that way... but I'm at the very least going to check out the Schecters before I take that plunge.

ESPs are pretty.. Out of all my steel strings I think the Taylor sounds the best - they have some really nice ones right now (I get the magazine).. Definitely dont get the one that looks pretty - I have a Gibson SJ-200 I absolutely hate even though its beautiful.. doesnt sound right for my playing - but its something most guitar guys would kill for. Schecters are pretty cool as well - its all about what sounds right to you.. I would strip it all down to my Taylor and Yamaha classical if I had to.. and thats with a Martin D-28. I like american made personally :) Growing up in Canada it meant something to own a US made guitar (not a fake one). Electrics are a whole other story.. after rebuilding a Strat and being given a Telecaster Thinline - im good. I sold my marshall stack last year - it definately was not geared for suburbia....

Yeah... If I was in the market for another acoustic that might make sense as far as Yamaha or Taylor. I've played both before. My Guild Classical is actually pretty old and has a nice aged sound to it.

It is about what sounds right and what plays right. I've had guitars that didn't belong to me in my hands before and had magical things happen... I'd like to own a guitar that magical things happen. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36