White shades of lacquer

in #guitar7 years ago

I haven't been active on writing like I thought I would be. For some reason there has been so much else to do and since I'm not after money, I don't see why I should rush. Good things come for those who wait.

Next week I'm starting to build new bass guitar from birch. Actually, the body is already shaped, but everything else is only in my head. I am planning to publish something in here, because it is not your everyday build. Fan fret, spalted birch top, birch neck and so on. We'll see what happens...

It is summer in Finland. Kinda of. This year it has been cold + rain most of the time. Few weeks ago me and my friend ignored the weather and thought that since it it was raining and there wasn't nothing else to do, we might as well do some clear coatings to basses. Oh boy, we made a mess.

That day might have been one of the warmer ones in this summer and the moisture was intense. You could feel it in your back and forehead. We loaded up two spray guns and started working. At first everything went really smooth. We did few coats and then let it dry. I usually don't do lacquers, but this one was exception. When we came back from coffee break the lacquer looked white stain, but not in a good way.

Sometimes it is good to do something else and get out of the shop and do something else. Much easier than sanding and re-coating.

Happy summer to everyone!

Ilkka

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59588.19
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50