bringing an old guitar back to life

in #guitar6 years ago (edited)

A week ago I bought an old guitar from a colleague for 15€. She hasn’t played it for some months - so it was time to wake it up from it's sleep.
It had a string missing and was covered in lot‘s of stickers and dust.

250810B6-325D-42E3-BAE3-985A2AD88CA3.jpeg

Even if it looked pretty cool, some of the stickers began to rip of and the whole body was a bit sticky.

The process after two hours...

C9452148-C990-448E-A2A1-C9D6655F217C.jpeg

Finally all stickers are gone after almost four hours.

A4851B83-A260-4B9C-99D1-FFC44CAC4C10.jpeg

Last but not least I decided to replace the full set of strings.

25A64696-AE63-4ED6-B026-6F6F3249CB68.jpeg

I also repainted some of the black border.

The guitar sounds quite good and it was definitely worth the time and work.

17A36CFE-F60D-4683-B8AC-809706343867.jpeg

Sort:  

I think it was a very good decision that you changed all of the strings in a guitar unused for a long time, it would certainly be harder to tune it right. I'm always replacing all strings together (it's such a gift I am giving for my guitar from time to time 🎁🎸 or new dices sometimes) unless I don't have the opportunity (I'm playing with friends or on a concert and one string has broke, so we're changing it like a crazy, because we do not have a second guitar 😉). What about stickers ➡ the guitar really looked cool with them, but I think that if you're just started your journey together you can collect new stickers or autographs on your way 🆕🆒🔜🔝🆙. Good luck @janikmoody! 👍👋

Thank you for your reply :)

I needed to buy a full set anyway, so I thought I give the whole thing a fresh start.
Also sometimes different strings don’t sound well together so...
I wouldn’t recommend to remove them all at once, I always replace and tune them one after another to keep the general tension.

And with the stickers... they looked cool, but the were not mine.
It’s like wearing someone else’s tattoos.

Regarding the strings and stickers I had exactly the same thing in my mind, I'm glad that we agree 😉! Have a nice Day!

Thanks, you too!

All these hard work just to restore an old guitar. It must really mean a lot to you. Good job. I love the end result. Looking all new again. Time to produce some beautiful tunes.

Well it wasn’t mine. I bought it like this.
And I would rather buy a good old guitar than a bad but brand new one.

Coole Sache👍 Aus altem wieder was neues machen, bevor man ins Geschäft geht und einfach eine komplett neue kauft👍😊

Genau, ich versuche in letzter Zeit bewusster einkaufen. Und nur Dinge zu kaufen, die ich wirklich brauche und wenn möglich gebraucht zu kaufen.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78