Allan Holdsworth

in #guitar7 years ago

Allan Holdsworth died back in April. I am still thinking about him most days.

We'll never get to hear him live again, but I exhort any of you who love electric guitar, fusion jazz, or just want to know how a great improviser on the guitar sounds, to get hold of the extraordinary box set "The Man Who Changed Guitar Forever".

It came out a few days before Holdsworth died. It is on "Spotify", but they pay musicians (or their estates) next to nothing.

His playing is still influencing what I do - I saw him a few times in the late 70s/early eighties, bought a few albums, and those experiences shifted my idea of what was possible on both the guitar and violin.

RIP Allan Holdsworth - a truly great musician.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68504.89
ETH 3816.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51