While my guitars languish and collect dust...

in #guitar8 years ago (edited)

steemit.jpg
History and waxing nostalgic is something I like to write about. It also seems the steem/it/busy community really likes it when people reveal more about themselves. I am somewhat of a music fanatic. For a good portion of my life it was probably one of the largest pillars around which my life revolved. This is not as much the case now.

My instrument of choice was guitar. Though I have also played keyboard, and Cello. I started as wanting to play Bass guitar as I was very inspired by Cliff Burton in my youth.

However, all I had access to for awhile was my father's acoustic guitar. I had a friend who was a skilled bass player and had played in quite a number of bands. He'd blast out funk, Rush YYZ, Iron Maiden, Play that Funky Music, you name it. He was good. I wanted lessons.

I started learning guitar instead as that is what I had. Eventually I'd decide to just stick with the guitar. The only type of guitar I don't own now many years later is a Bass Guitar though it turns out I ended up being a pretty good bass guitarist as well.

I practiced and played for years. Though something odd happened.

I really stopped trying to learn other people's songs. I just did what I would call doodling or noodling. I'd pick up a guitar and just start playing and making up stuff as I went.

Sometimes I'd make some very cool stuff up, and people would say "Wow, that was really cool, what was it?" To which I'd respond "I don't know, something I just made up?" They might say "Can you play it again?" and sometimes I'd be able to and other times I'd say "I don't actually remember what I did, I was just in the zone and played something". This is kind of like the zone I sometimes get in when writing poetry as @ChaosPoet. I actually use a very similar approach there. I blast out words and sometimes they are pretty profound and I have no clue how I thought of them. I would do the same thing when noodling on my guitars.

I haven't played my guitar I believe in over a year and my wife and one of my daughters keep hinting (not subtle at all about it at this point) that they want me to start playing again. My Daughter wants me to teach her step son, thus my grand child to play guitar and asked me last week to think of a day of the week to do it. Then made the comment, "I really want you to start playing guitar again". So there is a very strong likelihood I'll begin doing that again VERY soon. That means I'll have to struggle through getting my hands back into shape.

There was an interesting thing about the fact I noodled. I'd jam with people who memorized a lot of people's songs and people would be impressed with them, and my noodling may or may not be that impressive unless I happened to be in the zone.

So for years and years of pushing myself and just noodling I really had no comprehension of whether I was actually very good.

Then I worked at a place where there was a guitarist who was a manager of a department. I'd moved back to Denver. He played some music he and friends wrote, and talked about jamming every week. I said "Do you mind if maybe I came and jammed with you some time?" He didn't say much.

A few days later he and the guy that had the garage they'd sound proofed and where they jam were in his area and they had a guitar case. They opened it up and it had a nice Jackson guitar in it. Now I've always wanted either a nice Jackson or ESP guitar as out of the many types I've played so far those are the two brands that had designs that really fit me and seemed to bring out sounds I didn't play other places. He jammed some and then handed me the guitar. I'd experienced this before and this is kind of to me like some people might pass a joint around a circle when they are smoking marijuana. It was the pass the guitar game, and it is one I've done many times as I don't smoke marijuana.

So I pick up the guitar say something like "This is a nice guitar, I'd like to get something like this" and commented that the neck thickness was thinner than any I'd tried before. Then I started noodling.

He and the other guy start looking at each other then they nod and say "He can come." and like that I was allowed to jam with them.

I hand him the guitar back and think we're doing that pass the guitar game and instead he just sticks it back into its case. He had only brought it in to see if I was worthy of jamming with them. I of course did not know this until after the fact.

So I showed up and jammed with them numerous weeks and I felt myself growing and I started imagining myself actually being able to play pieces I hadn't before.

They actually played songs I liked but never had played. I picked up and learned things like White Zombie's Thunderkiss 65 on the spot and liked the song. I'd also noodle and they'd say "ooh what was that" and we would swap stuff.

I remember saying "Yeah, man but you can play Satriani" to that other guitar player and he said "You can too" which was a big compliment to me. That was the high point of when I had pushed myself the furthest I ever had.
I'd have been hard pressed to play this Satriani song though - some of his songs I likely could have done

I switched jobs and stopped jamming with them after that. I kind of regret that at times. I should have kept jamming with them. I stopped really challenging myself after that.

Before I stopped playing with them I had found a song to push myself that I thought I could pull off. So at my pinnacle the following song is one I thought I could probably manage to learn. Then I stopped. :(


Minus this intro solo - I wasn't quite that fast

Yet, that did answer a question for me. When it came to technique and ability I guess I was pretty good from what people tell me. Yet I had all of that concealed because my playing was pretty much spontaneous stuff that I made up rather than memorizing and performing songs for people. It was almost meditative for me.

Apparently this is what my family would like me to get back into doing...

Now another point of nostalgia. I have a Guild Classical guitar I was given for High School Graduation in 1989. I only use nylon strings on it. I have two six string acoustics, and one 12 string. I have a beat up BC Rich Warlock as my only electric guitar. (I had a Gibson electric when I was younger and before I was a father that I sold to come up with a down payment on an apartment).

My B.C. Rich is nothing fancy, but it has huge nostalgic memories for me. I fixed a lot of computers with a computer consulting business for 9 years in a remote part of Colorado. The B.C. Rich I have was given to me as payment for fixing one guys computer. He had lost the Tremolo/Whammy bar for it, one of the pickups was missing a screw, and the back panel for the electronics was missing.

My father (now deceased) and I cut some clear plastic out and screwed it in place on the back, and the pickup is actually held in by a wood screw. It is not the easiest thing to play, and the sound is okay. Yet this guitar has huge nostalgic reasons for me simply due to the fact it was repaired by me and my father working together.

I do know when I played guitars of higher quality I can do things that I don't seem to do on my B.C. Rich but this is a guitar I will never get rid of simply due to the nostalgic meaning it has for me.

Thanks for letting me share some more of my personal life. Some people seem to like it when I do, and today this is what I felt like talking about. This all came up because people mentioning they thought I might have an insane typing speed. This might have a bit to do with that.


Steem On!




Sort:  

You weren't as fast as Michael Romeo? No shame in that, he's a fantastic shredder. Symphony X are a bit cheesy, but they were pretty good when I saw them in concert.

I learned to play a song of theirs when I was a bit younger...

Not so fast as the one you included. I was never all that great a player.

That song is no joke either, so if you could play that one, that's pretty cool.

I didn't play Set The World On Fire... that was a song I chose to learn next when I was at my peak and wanted to push myself. I chose it because of some of the techniques I could do but that I thought I could do way better. Sweeping Arpeggios and some other techniques,

This Inferno song has a lot of pinch/artificial harmonics, so it'd be good in that regard.

Ah the guitars!

I think I am the same as you. After years of being in a band I gave up trying to play other peoples stuff and just noodled on my own. Which I really enjoy.

Back in the day I remember being able to play number of the beast or my proudest achievement was one of KSE's songs. Damn what was it? Rose of Sharyn! Thats it, which is easier than it looked when I first started learning it.

Now after fatherhood and years of sleepless nights I am reduced to playing an old beat up nylon strung spanish guitar. But man I have real fun!

Love your collection. I always wanted a BC Rich. Just for the look. They are the most metal looking guitars a young un could ever want!

Never tried to play any Rose of Sharyn. I can hear those PULL OFF style licks at the beginning embedded into the rhythm. I would kind of make up a lot of stuff that sounded like this when I was noodling.

This guy I discovered only a few years ago and he is the closest I've found to what some of my noodling often sounds like, though he is better than I was. ;) I wasn't too far off from this though.

In fact if I do get my chops back I really might try to learn that last one there. Love a lot of the rhythm and layout of that song.

I am a huge fan of that chuggy pull off twiddly lick kinda thing.

In fact after watching the first and last videos above (going to bed in a mo so cant watch them all!). Like him! Aw man, he is definitely awesome. You must have been a fair old player. I never had the speed like that. Although I was desperately working my way up to it!

I hope you get the time to get back in and all about it dude

As with typing I was faster when noodling my own stuff than I was if I tried to copy someone elses piece. Big difference between instinctually happening and forcing it.

Absolutely. Also when you make mistake s with your own stuff you can just incorporate them into it. I can't wait myself to get back into electric guitar playing. Just have to build up the speed and the memory!

You should really start playing again. I don't play as much as I should but I do try and play at least an hour a week now. Back in the day, it used to be minimum an hour or two a day but those days are gone for me as well. I mostly just noodle around now too.
My last band was only into playing covers and I didn't really like it too much. I'm not a big fan of playing the same thing over and over. They'd even get mad at me when I start playing something different to try and make the song more original sounding. They always wanted it to sound exactly like the recorded song. The solos were the only time I got to do what I wanted.
My band before that was the complete opposite and all we did was play original music. There were many jam sessions that were just noodling around at ear-splitting volume late into the night. Many of the riffs were wrote down and turned into full songs later.
I find a good way to play more often is to have a guitar sitting by where you watch TV. Just pick it up and start noodling around while you're on the couch or something. Then before you know it you'll have missed the whole show and your fingers will have that good old raw feeling to them again.

Actually moved that B.C. Rich out of an out of the way corner when I took it's photo and told my wife, I'm leaving it here. I am more likely to play it if it is not OUT OF SIGHT, OUT OF MIND.

The calluses I'll get to pretty quickly. It'll be painful but not a big deal have done it before. They hard thing is building up the stamina, strength, and flexibility for the fast stuff. You know when you're doing a fairly fast riff that repeats quite a bit and you can feel your hand burning. I'll need to work through that for awhile.

Thanks for sharing, friend @dwinblood...

I do enjoy reading about other people's journeys. May I add my voice to the others in your family to encourage you to get back into "noodling?" ;)

There was a period of time when my guitar (an old, Mexican, classical style from outside Guadalajara) was set aside for too long. My tactic at that time was to put a loop through the holes where the tuning machines mount, and hang it from a planter hook on the ceiling. That way, when I walked by I would bang my head on it and be reminded to pick it up and play.

I have found myself stimulated by simply being a part of the Steemit community. Steemit friends are coaxing me back into a more creative space, for which I am grateful!

Thanks for your engaging article. 😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71