Learn The Basics #11 (Guitar Theory Expounded) - Modes

in guitar •  last year  (edited)

Hey guys! @aehiguese here with the #11 lesson of the 'learn the basics' guitar theory expounded. Today's lesson is on modes. Make sure at the end of this lesson to take advantage of the video of the day to give you a better understanding of the concept of MODES. With that being said, let's jump right in!

Concept of Mode

Like I usually say, every scale or most scales are built of the major. The idea behind modes is to make every note on the major scale a root note and build a full scale off of the note. Now, there are different types of mode. We have:

  • Major Scale Mode.
  • Harmonic Minor Mode.
  • Melodic Minor Mode.

The Major scale mode is the most used and the most common and will be dealt with in depth in this lesson and many other lessons to come. The major scale mode is mostly used in jazz as well which is while I had to pause on my jazz series for a while, just to get you guys acquainted with modes.
Like I said, each note in a scale can be considered the root. This is what the modes are. For instance if you start the major scale on the 2nd note you are playing the dorian minor scale and the 3rd degree of the minor scale is the major scale of the fourth degree. Which is the lydian scale.

The Different Forms Of The Major Scale Mode.

  • Ionian Mode
  • Dorian Mode
  • Phrygian Mode
  • Lydian Mode
  • Mixolydiam Mode
  • Aeolian Mode
  • Locrian Mode.

The Ionian Mode

The ionian mode can simply be thought of as purely the major scale. It is built off of every 1st note in any major scale. For example: C ionian mode would be - C D E F G A B C. The triad chord for C ionian mode is a ** C Major triad**. Also, the seventh chord for the C ionian mode is the C Major Seventh (Cmaj7th).

Another example would be a D ionian mode which is - D E F# G A B C# D. The triad chord for D ionian mode is D Major Triad. Also, the seventh chord for the D Ionian mode is the D Major Seventh (Dmaj7th).

Note: The term triad chord refers to a chord containing nothing more than three (3) notes in the chord. While a seventh chord is a chord containing nothing more than four notes.

The skeleton scale - W W H W W W H or T T S T T T S.
W - Whole Step
H - Half-step
T - Tone.
S - Semitone.
The ionian mode is a happy sounding scale that can used on any genre of music. Like I said at the beginning, the ionian scale can be thought of as the major scale... As a matter of fact, it is the major scale.

Video of the Day


Life of a guitarist

Thank you for reading...

A special thanks to all my followers...

Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post.
If you enjoyed what you read here, create your account today and start earning FREE STEEM!