My Recording Guitar Tone

in #guitar-trail6 years ago

Here i will show you my standard setup for making my guitar recordings. Lately i have been using exclusively virtual instruments, as its easier to set up and i can achieve a very good tone.

Im using an pretty old m-audio fast track usb interface, which works great considering how old it is. This can be plugged into my laptop or desktop.

IMG_20170808_150051.jpg

here it is plugged into my laptop, but i use it also on my desktop

First i start opening my Samplitude Pro X2 Suit session. I really like this DAW although i thing its not that popular.

daw.jpg

I prepare a single mono track for recording guitar, as you may know the electric guitar is a mono instrument and the signal is recorded directly from the guitar and not from other device that may need stereo recording.

canal.jpg

You can record up to 2 mono instruments at the same time with this interface

canalvst.jpg

Here i can choose from all the vst available, i first use guitar rig 5


canalguitarrig5.jpg

I use Guitar Rig 5 because it have the best noise reduction i ever played, its perfect to achieve a very clean sound.

After that, i choose my main guitar effect VST, which is Amplitube 4. There are a lot more guitar VST, and most of them are great, but Amplitube is the one i like the most.

canalvst_amplitube.jpg

Amplitube 4 give me the option of choosing between a vary big variety of amp modeling, i can change the mic set up and the cabinet modeling and mix them to get very unique tones. I can come close to any real tone i like, its like having all the gear in a studio.

canalvst_amplitube2.jpg

And that's it, the preset i use will depend on the song and the guitar i will use. As i have very different guitars i would adjust each preset to fit the instrument.

This is pretty much all i use to produce my guitar tracks on all my videos and songs. For live performing of course i use my Line 6 POD HD 300, i use that one for recording sometimes too, i will show you some sample of that later.

Sort:  

I haven't tried using any of the VSTs yet. I have Guitar Rig 5, I need to link it to a DAW as soon as I figure out which DAW I want to use. I've been experimenting with Reaper, but it's a lot to learn.

Reaper seems like a very good choice, i havent tried my self but i know its popular and there must be a good reason for it...

Its not that hard, i bet you can handle it very fast, just look at some tutorials on the net...

Also another cool choice is Cubase. I find that very easy to learn how to use it... I may do some tutorials my self, it may apply to any DAW as most of them work in a very similar way :)

Agreed -- I love Reaper. Lots of free VST out there too. I use https://www.powerdrumkit.com/ for drums, LePou Plugins for amp simulators https://lepouplugins.blogspot.com/ , bass basscruncher (synth) http://www.synthedit.com and keys Tunefish4 https://www.tunefish-synth.com/download.
These are just a few that I use and all of them are FREE!
Also Reaper gives you a 60 day free trial and is only about $60 one time after that unless you are a professional music producer the it costs about $320

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc with support of @curie and its vote train.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; All witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations, including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Thanks my friend!, yes a voted for @curie as a witness :)

How cool! Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55