My (not) guilty pleasures - Writing contest by @blewitt

I’ve had some trouble focusing on this #guiltypleasure post (thanks for the challenge @honeydue!), as I was busy with one of my… guilty pleasures! Obviously! I’ve mentioned before my fondness for games and I admit I was playing Candy Crush. And I’m not ashamed to admit it - it’s not very time consuming, but that time is one of total relax and I enjoy taking that break after dealing with whatever needs to be done around the house - quite a lot in this busy Christmas season.

My current level, to which I will return shortly

On the other hand, I’m not happy with the term itself...

Guilty pleasure -

something, such as a film, television programme, or piece of music, that one enjoys despite feeling that it is not generally held in high regard.

This generally is very vague and quite subjective.
‘Candy Crush’ is still hugely popular, so in a sense it is ‘generally held in high regard’. And yet, most of the people whose opinion I value would call it a complete waste of time.

Another of my secret pleasures - watching ‘The Walking Dead’. I don’t know why I do it, after all I only like a few of the characters and sometimes I find it boring. I don’t know if it’s ‘generally acceptable’ - as it wasn’t on the list of the most watched series. Actually I was glad it wasn’t and it turns out I haven’t watched anything on that list. That’s good - I’d hate it to be a fan of anything too popular with the masses, because, yes, I am very judgmental when it comes to other people’s guilty pleasures.
But, come on, how can you not like these guys?

Now,’a piece of music’!? Let’s just give you an example - yesterday I ran into a niece of mine and I had my earphones blasting Amon Amarth,
‘Guardians of Asgaard’. The sort of music I like is well-known in the family and not held in high regard - you know rock stars, long hair, drugs, alcohol. Not even my 18 years old niece approves of such music, but fortunately she didn’t find out what I was listening to. By her standards, that probably counts as auntie indulging in one of her guilty pleasures. But, when it comes to music I only care about the opinions of fellow rock fans, so being listening to Amon Amarth is held in high regard!

Followers of my blog already know the kind of things I like, so I feel like I owe them to reveal something more. Well, if you must know, one of my really guilty pleasures is sneaking to the kitchen in the early hours when I cannot sleep to smoke a cigarette. At least it’s something to do. I like it there, in total darkness, total silence. It doesn’t help much as far as sleeping is concerned, but hey.. This works better in summer, when I can also enjoy the cool air. In winter, getting out of a comfy bed is not that nice.

I wish I had more to confess as far as my sweet tooth is concerned, some shameful story involving a nice piece of cake, with lots of chocolate cream, but truth is I haven’t seen one in a while. Does dreaming of cake count as a guilty pleasure?
No need to worry about me - my birthday is coming up, then Christmas and when there’s a festive occasion there’s no shame in eating whatever you like!
If you feel like admitting to your guilty pleasures, please consider yourselves tagged and do your own post in this fun challenge started by @blewitt!

Thanks for reading

rebeccanew.png

Sort:  

hey there @ladyrebecca! Im super glad that you were tagged to get involved so thanks for that @honeydue. Actually I think a few of your friends did it. Badass!

If you like The Walking Dead, have you read the comic at all??
Yeah the term "Guilty Pleasures" was a questionable one to use but it meshes better than just "Pleasures" so I went with that. Mainly it was just an initiative to let our guard down a bit and get to know each other a bit better. Success!!!!

No, I haven't read the comics at all. I keep hearing other fans talking about the plot in the books, but at this point it's too late for me to read them. I think one of my favorites wasn't in the books at all...

Yeah, Daryl isn't in the comics at all. It's never too late to start reading em though...although there are way better books out there.

Does dreaming of cake count as a guilty pleasure?

This would depend on how vivid the dream was...If you wake up eating your pillow then I'd say it counts...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09