Guilty Pleasure Music Challenge - Week 2- My Maa

in #guiltypleasuremusic7 years ago (edited)

" The heart of a mother is a deep abyss at the bottom of which you will always find forgiveness"- Honore de Balzac

Can I just say how close this topic is to my heart. That being said, the song that I have chosen for this week's challenge is originally called 'Meri Maa', beautifully sung by talented Shankar Mahadevan for the movie 'Taare zameen Par'.

Story Time!

Backstory to this song is that the parents of this kid drop him off at a boarding school which is run specifically for all types of special kids. This kid had a problem with being able to focus on studies but it wasn't intentional. They called me "slow". He had a genuine problem but his father did not really understand his feelings, his mom on the other hand did. This song comes up at the scene when his family (well, his father) brutally leaves him off at the door of the boarding school, leaving him astounded and horrified at the prospect of being alone at that young age.

So let's get to it!

mother.PNG

My Maa

I never really said it, but I’m afraid of the dark mom
I don’t really show it,
But I do care about you mom
You know it all don’t you
You know everything, my Maa.

Don’t leave me In this crowd mom,
I’m afraid I’ll lose my way home
Don’t send me away so far,
That my memory ceases to cross your mind
Am I so bad mom?
Am I that bad, my Maa?

Whenever dad would push me too high on the swing, my eyes would look for you
Thinking you would run to me and hold me
I never told him, but I would get mortified mom
I never let the pain rush to my face,
But I writhed in fear inside my heart
Even so you know it all don’t you mom
You really know it all, my Maa.

I never really say it, but I’m afraid of the dark mom
I don’t really show it
But I do care about you mom,
You know it all don’t you?
You know everything, my Maa.

Following is a YouTube link to the song, do give it a listen! It is worth it <3

Until next week @sjennon and all the others.


Written by @things, 2017. All rights reserved.
First image by Pexels.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84