Sort:  

You have to choose MAIN before you can actually split those tokens. What you can do is click "Split", get a "Split" address by copying it from "Receive". And then log into MAIN, and SEND your BCH over to the address you copied, by pasting it in the SEND tab.

That will put it in a separate chain altogether, which is what is recommended. You need to get access to those coins on the main chain, basically, first.

My brain seems to think that it would be more logical to move the main BTC over to a new address for security reasons, then send the BCH to a new address. It doesn't seem like a good idea to proceed with either coin having the same private key as before?

Thanks a lot for the reply!

ok

This is why the split function is there. It separates the funds to the new address.

I thought so but I wasn't sure lol - I've been waiting for you all to test it out first before I tried to do mine Lol, so thanks for doing this! I'll pass along the info for sure :)

I tried to send it from the main to the split but transaction keeps failing, tried to shapeshift it, failed too.. i'm stuck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83