You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to delegate your SP to another account using SteemWorld

in #guide5 years ago

I can't understand why delegations aren't integrated into the steemit interface.

Adding a quick and easy delegation option could make steemit even better than pa.treon!!

Sort:  

I have wondered the same thing. It would make sense to do that, I would think. Why hasn't it been done? Surely it's been thought of.

Tag @steemchiller, do you know anyone who might be able to make this happen?

Can we start a go-fund-me-kick-starter-steem campaign?

Tag @leprechaun might be working on something somewhat related to this (or be willing to share their opinion)?

It's a work in progress. https://test.steemfiles.com/@logiczombie.

@leprechaun have you shared your project and ideas with @justinsunsteemit?

I have tried communicating with Justin Sun using Steem but it seems he is not interested in using the Steem platform. It is like someone who hates chocolate buying a chocolate factory. Nor does he seem interested in sponsoring other projects that use the Steem-blockchain as he had cut off DAO funding before the fork.

Well, a lot has been happening. I think we are still trying to figure out where everyone falls. My intention was to draw his attention with my tag. :)

Was the Steemit DOA funding being used for Steemit, or was it being used for things outside of Steemit? If it was being used for things outside of Steemit, then I can understand why it was cut. I wouldn't want to pay someone to modify my car and they then use those funds to modify their car, which they then drive away with. I don't think Steemit got to keep many of the things it paid for. Am I wrong?

The DAO's funding doesn't require supporters to part with any funds. You can go to proposals and vote and votes are weighted according to your Steem Power. I voted on several and didn't cost me a milli-Steem.

There is a special "return proposal". If any proposal doesn't have as much Steem Power voting for it, then that proposal wont get funded. Justin Sun voted such that this was so high no proposals were being funded.

The Dao fund was never Justin's money. He just has influence on it because he has a lot of Steem power.

The way Steem is, and its forks are, it is just too easy to block someone's funds. I am not sure whether Monero solves this problem or not. Suppose I put my Monero address on my profile, and the mining pools of Monero decide they want to block me. Can they?

Thanks for taking the time to explain this. I appreciate it. I had no idea how it worked. I thought literal funds were cut (out of a fund, out of Steemit's fund).

So where do the funds come from? Do they come from post rewards?

Or, is there a DAO fund being drawn from? Who holds it?

Oh, I agree, it is very centralized, the way it currently sits. The actual community has virtually no say.

I hope Justin's intentions were to temporarily put everything on hold while the smoke clears, and not a permanent action. He talked about giving rights to the community, I hope he will follow through.

I think the real question here is, how does one give the power back to the people? Can it be done? How?

Suppose I put my Monero address on my profile, and the mining pools of Monero decide they want to block me. Can they?

I believe they could in theory, but there is no single point of "failure" for blockchains like bitcoin and monero.

If the "top 20" monero, or bitcoin miners "blocked" (ignored) all your transaction requests, you'd barely notice.

The DAO's funding doesn't require supporters to part with any funds. You can go to proposals and vote and votes are weighted according to your Steem Power. I voted on several and didn't cost me a milli-Steem.

There is a special "return proposal". If any proposal doesn't have as much Steem Power voting for it, then that proposal wont get funded. Justin Sun voted such that this was so high no proposals were being funded.

The way Steem is derived it is just too easy to block someone's funds. Show me a chain that isn't vulnerable to this problem and I can tell you what kind of metal it is made of.

I also wanted to add how refreshing it is when a dev is willing to actually have a conversation and explain things rather than assuming the worst and resorting to name-calling, mockery, and degradation of the other person.
I want to work with people who can and will have these types of conversations. Thank you for leading by example.
I really like your idea of being able to fully control your own feed. I also like the idea of including some custom options for users. The ability to turn off images in the feed might be nice in case one is spammed with image rich spam. The ability to opt-in and opt-out of blacklists as logiczombie suggested would also be awesome. I also think it would be so amazing to have all the features we want in one place. It's a bit of a nuisance to use 3-4 apps for various functions. I have long wondered why everything has to be separate. I feel like it makes things more difficult, especially for new users.
@leprechaun > How can we support your work?

Yes, I have started looking at other chains to see what they are doing and for ideas on how to solve some of our problems. There are so many vulnerabilities currently. We desperately need changes.

I love it. Especially your "intro page" - https://test.steemfiles.com/

Nice, check this out, https://test.steemfiles.com/

Building a social media site that uses Steem without blacklists!
No blacklists
No hidden posts because of "low reputation score"
Focus is more on who you decide to follow

Spam protection, how? Plagiarism/copyright protection how? Or are we exploring anything goes? Anything goes opens the door to illegal content which opens the door to liability. Limited liability is not immune to liability. Directors are still vulnerable.
I understood the idea behind blacklists. I am not pro-censorship, but I also hate when a few ruin it for the many (like we saw with the endless hate spam recently, which was crashing some/a lot of people's feed).
Yeah, I usually read those hidden posts. I also disagree with being punished for up-voting someone with hidden content. My vote, my choice, no?
What you have described would be closer to decentralization. Some people had way too much power and their treatment of people was abhorrent.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66445.86
ETH 2588.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68