Government Request on Coinbase

in #guardian7 years ago (edited)

The Guardian recently posted an article around Coinbase, many of you like me may use Coinbase, for myself I am a UK consumer/trader, the latest post I have seen suggests that the US government want a full 'trawl' through the data Coinbase possesses, that includes many foreign applicants (in the US 's eyes) , surely this would be breaching a foreign policy in invading other countries data, not that I have anything to hide, but it does contain personal data.

Either way, I am curious to what your thoughts are - I know nothing is truly anonymous, but surely governments do not have the right to have complete exposure to anything they want..

The link if anyone is interested:

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2016/nov/27/coinbase-bitcoin-irs-government-summons-data-cryptocurrency

download.png

DT

Sort:  

Hey man, thanks for sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53