Cold Showers...Training Your Body to Handle Pain and Discomfort

in #growth6 years ago

Hello Steemians,

I've been doing a lot of soul searching lately. And it's been...you guessed it...HARD and PAINFUL!

Like most people, I run AWAY from pain. Since childhood, pain was something that was just simply avoided. Why deal with any type pain when you can take the easy out? And you may be thinking, does she mean physical pain, emotional pain...what kind of pain? I'm talking about the pain that KEEPS you from growing. Well, what does that mean?

Think about this...I want to lose 20 lbs. Sure I know what to do, but it's hard...And why is it hard, because you have to push yourself and be in pain to grow. You have to lift weights, go running, change your diet and watch how much you eat in order to lose weight. It's HARD and PAINFUL! Hence it's easier to just sit back and eat some donuts.

Well, avoiding pain because it's _______ (hard, uncomfortable, insert your verb) is not getting to where you want to be. Trust me on this, I have been there and done that.

So how I'm changing this is to EMBRACE pain. Yes, any type of growth will involve pain! But the results will speak for themselves and when you can look back and see where you've come from, simply dealing with the temporary pain will yield you a lifetime of desirable results.

One way I'm pushing myself out of my comfort zone is by taking cold showers. It's HARD and PAINFUL! But by training your brain to handle pain on a physical state, it creates muscle memory so it can translate to your mental state.

I'd love to hear your comments! Drop me a line.

Sort:  

Nice feet!

Haha...

Congratulations @victoriacalloway! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.40
ETH 3085.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31