I am grateful for what I am and have. My thanksgiving is perpetual. (Henry David Thoreau)

in #growth2 years ago

I found this quote today and I really liked the start of it. I am really grateful for what I have. I want to be grateful for every minute and moment I experience and live here on earth. I am grateful for the bread I had for breakfast, for my cup of coffee, and for my cup of tea. I am grateful for my family, for my car, that I have place to live, and I am grateful that God loves me and takes care of me, even if I shouldn't have a place to live or a car to drive.

But, then comes the second part... My Thanksgiving is perpetual.

That gave me a problem. What does perpetual mean? I had no clue, so I had to find a dictionary and a definition of the word, and this is what I found:

The definition of perpetual

  1. Lasting forever; never-ending: conceived heaven as a state of perpetual bliss.
  2. Continuing or being so for an indefinitely long time: found themselves in perpetual debt; felt like a perpetual outsider. See Synonyms at continual.
  3. Flowering throughout the growing season.

Now, what does this tell us about thanksgiving and gratefulness? It should be everlasting, never-ending... it should be flowering and growing... and yes, that is how I want my thanksgiving to be!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14