When Will We See The First Trezor-Like Hardware Wallet For Die Hard Steem Hodlers?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #growth-ideas7 years ago

A new hardware future for Steem


I currently store my 11 BTC I bought at $24 in 2010 on a Trezor hardware wallet, and I also keep my Unobtanium (UNO) wallet on a hardware USB stick with a live Ubuntu image that allows changes to be saved.

I'd really be happy to hodl Steem right now too with the rising price, and I thought a hardware wallet would be a great way to allow Steem to be stored offline for the first time instead of just on exchanges and in Steemit wallets.



Source


I think a crowdsourcing post on here could help raise funds to allow Steemit to develop a hardware wallet via a Steemit Foundation or a SteemChain blockchain research lab as indicated in one of my posts yesterday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@mindhunter/why-does-steemit-inc-not-setup-up-a-steemit-blockchain-lab-called-steemchain

@mindhunter


Sort:  

There are already some multicoin hardware wallets, sooner or later there will be more models with more currencies supported.

http://reviewnetwork.com/best-multicoin-hardware-wallet/

Thanks @ropaga as I have been looking around recently - hence this idea. I'll check out your link :)

You realize the Trezor is an open source product? So anyone could make a wallet for steemit?

Just the software interface we need :) ... though I'd prefer different hardware too as its a bit clunky I think! It could do with a facelift.

They're preparing to release a 2.0 version soon. I've been in touch with their people. It's going to include a larger touch / pressure sensitive color screen. ;)

This sounds promising. I'd love to see Steem support ASAP :)

If you develop you should build it? Or contact one in the community to build it.

Exactly. Lets hope this post can go places??

That is interesting to think about it @mindhunter. I don't know :D
Thank you for sharing this great post!

Lets hope this post has momentum @lazariko12 :) Thanks for commenting.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.42 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24