You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemian Charity and Mutual Assurance

in #growth-idea7 years ago

I usually agree with a lot of your ideas and I think a lot of them are very good but I think I disagree with this one. All of us needs to do the best we can with our individual Steem but I've upvote for the good intention and Steem need a lot more compassionate feelings.

Sort:  

Hi teamsteem, your support has been absolutely incredible and I appreciate all feedback, positive and negative. Hopefully I can change your mind on this one. Ironically, I think this is the best (with improvements certainly) and most important idea I've had! ;)

Let me give some examples for how the two funds might be used.

  1. Charity fund - a person from a village in Ethiopia submits a request for help building a school. The request is evaluated for authenticity, impact and cost, then if it meets the selection criteria, funds are released (perhaps not all at once) into the appropriate hands for mobilisation and implementation on the understanding that progress reports and a closure report is made. If Steemians are happy that the money was used as intended and that the outcome was what was desired then that would be considered a success and hopefully many more Steemians would be created long the way. Those who were involved in the project would gain reputation for meeting our standards for integrity and reporting thereby gaining reputation for future charitable projects. If every Steemian diverted a couple of percent of their rewards, we would have one heck of an engine for growth of Steem awareness and for helping people beyond the Steemit community.

  2. Mutual Assurance - this fund would be for contributing Steemians only. So a contributing Steemian encounters an event where they need some temporary financial support. A close family member falls ill and the treatment is to expensive. They submit a request to the mutual assurance fund that they have been paying into and it is evaluated for authenticity, cost and compliance with other criteria decided and agreed upon before people join the fund. If the request meets the criteria then the Steemian will receive the money to help their relative.

No-one knows what is around the corner and we could all use some backup occasionally. I think awareness that such a fund exists and the good it does for our community would and value and utility to Steem and encourage growth from people outside who hear about it. This is insurance, for important matters (not holiday travel insurance) with no profit motive. The fund is there just to help Steemians in a bind.

I hope these examples help to change your mind. I would love some more feedback if you have the time. Thanks bud!

I get you and I love the idea and their might very well be go ways of implementing them but there's always a trade off between centralization and individual freedom.

I love the ideas you added in this comment. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60988.21
ETH 2373.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55