Love yourself.

in #growingup4 years ago

When I was fourteen, I didn't really get the meaning of the quote saying,

"Love yourself, before you love someone."

Isn't that selfish? Why would you love yourself? Narcissist.
That was what I thought when I tried to comprehend this quote. I was too young back then. I don't even know what love actually is. Or how does being in love really can make you mad as hell. The only "love" that I knew back then was what portrayed in Shoujo Manga that I used to read those days. So innocent, so unreal, yet still gives me butterflies in my stomach.

Now that I'm older, I realized how much self love is important. One can kill himself. One can lose herself. All because they don't see their worth and value. When they were left by someone they had poured all their heart into, they would feel nothing but emptiness, confusion and self worth.

So love yourself, before you love somebody.

From me, who is still trying to love myself, before it is too late.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57126.48
ETH 3046.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29