Becoming An Adult

in #growing7 years ago (edited)

I think it's true when they say that growing up is an option. You get to choose how you live the rest of your life here on earth. You can also let others decide for you, and feel lost forever. My culture, hispanics, well at least my family, has decided everything for me since I don't seem to carry the mental capacity to make smart decisions. HAVE YOU EVER FELT TRAPPED? I've been feeling like that since 1996. I've got this personality and swing that my family doesn't get. I've got these dreams and plans that to them make no sense, I'm stuck. So stuck that for a very long time I stopped having dreams and goals. Because what is the point right?

Well now I'm 25. Single, no college education (my choice), trapped in Tulsa, Oklahoma with no way out. I'm in a mental stage where I feel caged, unwilling to stand up for myself because God forbids I disrespect someone with my life choices. I began to plan my escape then my family took a financial hit and my plans are on paused. WHY THOUGH?? Why on earth should I put my life on pause because someone else made a mistake? This goes beyond being a good family member. My family takes hits all the time, they can overcome it without me?

I"m 25. No time to waste. I'm talented, and fat, that has to do something in this world. Why am I stuck? How afraid could I possibly be? VERY!

Time to grow some lemons, before life throws them at me!

Sort:  

You shape your own reality. You can feed yourself with lies that someone else can make decisions for you but you are the only one who can make decisions for yourself. Isn't it your decision to let other people affect your life ? You can alway change that and take control. I as well have dreams and goals that my parents don't understand and don't believe in me, but I don't let that affect me not a single bit. I still keep taking action towards my goals!

Totally agree! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59