Planting my Discovery Garden Seedling Kits

in #grovid204 years ago

This morning, I was in the mood again to spend some time in my garden, thanks to TigerLily and her #grovid20 initiative. I finally used the freebies that I got from Woolworths last year. These are the Discovery Garden seedling kits I got for free with every $30 I spent in any Woolworths supermarket. How awesome was that! They came with a variety of herbs, vegetable and flower seeds. I prefer to receive these giveaways over some mini-collectables that are made of plastics and rubber, such as Ooshies Lion King from Woolworths or Little Shop from Coles. I hope Woolworths will do the promotion again where they don't give away free stuff that is not sustainable and has a negative environmental impact.

Last year, I had over 20 seedling kits and then I planted them, but either these seedlings didn't sprout at all or they did but then didn't even grow and eventually died. Apparently, there was a technique that you could apply in order to successfully grow these free seedlings but, at the time, I didn't bother to look it up on YouTube or some websites. I won't be too slack this time.

Thankfully, I got 4 seed kits left. Yay!!! I got spinach, bok choi (or pak choy), parsley, and thyme. Each of these seed kits contains a pot, seed paper, soil pellet, and pop-out seed name tag (as you can see in the photo above).

04202020-03.jpg

Getting the Seed Pots Started

First, I grabbed a small shallow bowl from the kitchen and a spoon, which will be used for gardening purposes only. I put the soil pellet in the bowl and poured 50 mL of water over it. (I used a medicine cup to measure the water. I wanted to strictly follow the instructions as stated in the Discovery Garden label.)

04202020-04.jpg

You can see in the picture below that the soil pellet expanded as it continued to absorb the water.

04202020-05.jpg

It said on the label that I should put gloves on to mix the soil and water with my hands to make a wet mixture, but that's what the spoon was for. I didn't use gloves because both the garden and kitchen gloves were torn so I had to use a spoon instead.

04202020-06.jpg

Using the spoon, I filled the pot up with the soil mixture to around 1 cm below the top, and then I placed the seed paper on top of the soil. I gently pressed down the seed paper and then covered it with the rest of the soil. Then I placed the name tag on the side of the pot so I would know which one is which.

04202020-07.jpg

04202020-08.jpg

I planted all four seedlings and then I placed them in this mini-greenhouse and put the cover on top but with vents opened. Now it's sitting next to my one and only succulent, which a child from the Early Learning Centre where I work gave me as a Christmas present in December last year.

04202020-09.jpg

So now, my four seed pots are ready and I hope these plants will grow.

This Discovery Garden has given me an idea on how to plant seeds in a pot from a scratch. I will just follow the same instructions and hopefully, it's going to be a success. (fingers crossed)

rsz_transparent.png

Thank you for reading. If you have any suggestion, comment or feedback, please leave a reply below. Thank you! Cheers for now!

grovid20.png

All photos are my own unless otherwise stated.
#grovid20 banner by TigerLily

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

Hello @evlachsbmog
Given the quality of your article, the team of future.witness has decided to vote for you in order to encourage you to continue on this path.
You can also, if you want to help us and vote for our witness.
Here is a quick link to Steem Login, a 100% secure application developed by our team so that you can connect to all of your Steem applications.
Vote for our witness on Steem:
@futurewitness

Thank you. Voted for @futurewitness.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 131 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60457.50
ETH 2430.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51