Grimsthorpe Castle, Lincolnshire, England

in #grimsthorpe6 years ago

As I indicated, one of the places I visited while in the county of Lincolnshire was Grimsthorpe Castle and although it is a country estate it is called a castle nonetheless. I spent a few hours there looking the place over as it was pointed out to me by some locals. If not for them I would not even have been aware of it’s existence.
grimsthorpe castle  11-1-2010 9-17-31 AM.jpg
It was a nice place to spend a few hours though and turned out to be filled with art, sculptures, furnishings and items of historical significance. Turns out the place is still lived in by people related to the Astors and has been around since 1140 or so it appears. As you approach the front there are two massive towers on either corner which creates quite a commanding appearance and may be the reason it is referred to as a castle.

Read more here https://wp.me/P3CC9J-CC

Visit my other Social Media and Travel sites as I develop them. https://wp.me/P3CC9J-6vq

Wizard of Where

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48