You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facing Overwhelming Sadness Within Grief

in #grief6 years ago

This post was I think healthy for me to read. I lost my other half, and I never confronted that pain properly. Sometimes I'll be dancing or laughing, and then out of nowhere I'm attacked by sudden sadness, because so much in life reminds me of my other half.

As I start my morning thinking of what I want to produce, I feel very grateful that I found your post. I haven't managed any of this pain properly in my life, and I endlessly distract myself to not confront it. I think after reading what you said however, that I understand that what I create today should be meaningful, and it may be painful to make.

It's incredible how much pain a human being can hide, a smile can be very deceptive. I understand this about myself, so I try and speak aloud about what I'm grateful for, and the things I love.

I think two things will eventually heal me, one being time, and the other being people like yourself who share their experiences. Because of what you wrote, my entire day is going to be focused differently. I have much respect for you because of that, your words are powerful. I want you to have a good day.

I will gladly follow you on Steem, thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

I am sorry for your loss @zastels... Cool that you found this supportive, . The grieving process is different for each of us- it's personal, intimate and sometimes painful to face. So much in life continues to remind me of my partner as well, and it is in those moments that I've found gratefulness - gratitude - to be so helpful. It's not a bad thing for me to be reminded of the person she was - who she had become in the life we shared - her perspectives on things - how much she loved her children and grandchildren - anything... I now welcome those reminders instead of fearing that they might trigger sadness...
Time does help - a Lot... But, it's not something to feel like we have to Rush... We don't need to be hard on ourselves. There were times when I'd think that I should be doing better because X amount of time had elapsed... But, Best to take it a day at a time, moment by moment. You'll get through it - in your own time...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66505.48
ETH 3595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90