My thoughts

in #grief7 years ago

It’ll be a year in May. I lost my Aunt to cancer. Sarcoma to be exact. She was my second mom. No matter when I called or visited she was always happy to see me.

When I was born she was only thirteen years old. Just a kid herself but always brought the family together. The true life of the party. She could recall everything and everyone’s name. Always the first one on the dance floor and made the most delicious food. You couldn’t get together with out having a meal together. It’s just what you do.

She was married and had three children, and five grandchildren. With her busy life she still made time daily to spend with my Grandparents. They were her heart, home and soul.

When she was diagnosed she didn’t even flinch. The rest of us rallied together hopeful there would be a cure. Due to the location, surgery was not an option and the cancer was extremely aggressive. Through her treatment she was humorous and faithful. That’s not to say she was comfortable. That was not the case. She had much discomfort, but never burdened us with it. Even on her last day she asked my Grandparents to stay home and rest, sent her husband home and while she was alone closed her eyes and surrendered.

I still hear her voice and miss her so much. Life is not promised to go on forever, we all know this but it hurts nonetheless. Make the most of every moment.

Smile...laugh....love

I remind myself of these things often. I share this because the tears still come and the grief is too real. One day it’ll be better. But today I miss my Aunt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55