Gridcoinstats now powered with Steemit; better news section and some nice improvements

in #gridcoinstats7 years ago

Gridcoinstats has been updated once more in a week!

Better News Page with Steemit

The page continues to get some nice updates and today I've finished my integration of Steemit on the page. We now display our latest posts on Steemit on the main page.

The News Page has been created and now contains a heap of information on Gridcoin and BOINC. We display posts from our own #gridcoinstats tag, the #Gridcoin tag and updates from the Whitelisted BOINC Projects.

Get some free exposure, post a good article to the #Gridcoin tag!

Various other updates

  • Including some changes to the voting page now displaying the time of the vote being submitted. It also displays the participation percentage of the network in the selected poll.
  • The navigation bar on the top has been rearranged.
  • The error when browsing the Faucet with a Proxy, VPN, Tor etc has been updated for more detailed information on why this is not permitted.
  • The main page also notice you if there are any ongoing Polls and how many there are.

Hope you enjoy this update. Visit us at GridcoinStats.eu

Sort:  

Pioneering accomplishment, you are raising the bar every time.
Upvoted, resteemed and promoted.

Great to see!, Keep up the good work. Interested in steem(it) integration ideas, tools, and resources too. So will keep looking around.

Great work!

Can you share with us how Steem integration is done? Thanks!

It's actually a very simple script that fetches their webpage and scrapes the content I wish to acquire. Not as noble as running the actual client, but it works well and drains less resources for my servers.

I'd love to know more, as I'm interested in embedding my posts in my website :)

I thought so :) So you are leeching the front end instead of pulling it from the blockchain. Cool.

I wouldn't call it leeching. I have a backend that I update once an hour, so it's not reloading the data from steemit whenever someone visits the page. Besides, running the blockchain puts to much strain on my server at the moment for a simple thing like this.

OK, caching it, of course.

My thoughts exactly. You don't need the complete node only to get the content of selected posts.

Good work!

Great job, I like to know this sort of news.Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94