How I got my 100,000th Gridcoin Today Due to a Generous Fellow Gridcoiner

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

I was so pumped last night because I had about 99,850 Gridcoins and since I'm mining about 225/day I was sure to hit 100,000 today. I woke up this morning and we are having blockchain issues so unfortunately I won't be getting my mined coins until tomorrow at the next superblock.

I hopped on the Slack channel to chat with the Gridcoin regulars there and I jokingly made the comment:

"You know, guys, this SuperBlock issue is a huge bummer for me. I was supposed to get my 100,000th coin today and it looks like I'm going to be stuck at 99,957 until tomorrow. I even got a cake with today's date on it and everything!"

Hoping to get a good chuckle, I closed the Slack window and went back to work. A few minutes later I hopped back on and user @deltik had said:

"I can send you 43 GRC :-P"

Thinking he was kidding, I laughed it off and said it's no big deal if I don't hit the mark until tomorrow. A few minutes later, a hear a little "ping" and deltik had indeed sent over 42.40 GRC -- enough to get me to exactly 100,000.00 on the nose!
Capture.PNG

So there you have it. I had assumed I would mine my way to 100,000 Gridcoins today, but instead I hit my milestone with the help of a generous fellow Gridcoin miner who had some change to spare! :-)

For how serious we all can be about CryptoCurrency from time to time, we can be thankful for how fun and lighthearted the Gridcoin community can be. Give this @deltik fellow a follow, would you? I hear he's new to Steemit and why wouldn't you want to follow a guy as cool as him?

Keep crunching, friends!

Sort:  

Deltik is a fantastic bloke and a great contributor to the Slack channels. Also contributes some serious compute to the Gridcoin team.

Congrats on the milestone, and well done to Deltik for sticking with the spirit of the GRC community.

EDIT: Did you just buy another 67 thousand GRC?


Gonna be a whale soon!

LoL indeed I did. I was so moved my @deltik's generosity that I decided to add another ~1BTC of Gridcoin when I got home from work!

A sound investment.

Yay!

Congratulations that is just awesome to hear. And that's a lot of Gridcoin! You'll be a filthy rich animal soon enough, empowering research that is changing lives. What a great combo :)

What kind of cake did you have? You should update the post with a pic!

Some people are generous and make the world a better place.

Congrats for hitting a milestone. It will take me a while but I will be there too.

My strategy is simple....

Step 1: Mine as much as possible
Step 2: Buy additional coins when the price drops

Whether Gridcoin peaks at 10 cents or at $1.00 USD, at least I'm putting money and effort into a project I believe in with a great community.

so what's your first poll going to be? @peppernrino for vp?

I've been racking my brain on it, man. It bothers me that nobody else ever posts any polls so I feel like there's some unwritten rule that I'm not aware of so I've been too nervous to post one. haha

Hi, could I borrow the link to slack from you; I've googled it but came up with nothing.

https://teamgridcoin.slack.com

Does this work for you? I know you have to put in your email address to get an invitation. There's some sort of error when you put in your email address, but you'll find out it still sends the email.

Gridcoin was the first online community I ever wanted to be a part of, we do have little spats sometimes, but overall everyone in the community is very positive.

100'000 is much :) Don't know if I will ever reach it.
Congratulations!

Thanks! I'm just doing my best to buy when the coins are cheap, and mine as much as I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58100.37
ETH 3135.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24