Let's organize a science fundraising!

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

1.jpg

Here's an idea I have had for some time now. What are your thoughts on setting up a fund for donating directly to a real scientific project? Of course I am talking for real science and not stupid indiegogo things that have been debunked (see solar roadways) again and again. Gridcoin already helps humanity with computational power but computational power can only do so much...

I don't plan to sell any of my coins anytime soon, but I would be more than happy to give some out for free if I knew they could help fund a promising treatment for AIDS or whatever.

Another bonus from setting up regular charities is that the coverage we will get will increase gridcoin's popularity (and price I guess). And the more popular gridcoin gets, the more meaningful our scientific impact will get. From my perspective, it's a win win, whether you are into gridcoin purely for monetary gains or for helping mankind.

What are your thoughts? Would you be willing to donate gridcoins for a scientific fundraising? Do you have in mind any serious project that we could help? Any ideas or tips for getting maximal exposure if we ever do something like this?

Update: I made the same post over reddit

Here are some comments I got:

Mpounder: I don't have the specific means to donate Gridcoin as I'm only 5days old in mining, but I'm definitely willing to advertise in my local area and on social media? Trying to get as many people as I can into mining Gridcoin.
If all did the same that would benefit the Science community right?

Moepforfreedom: sounds like a good idea to me but we have to make sure that it is organized properly. We would have to ensure that the funding process is open and transparent and that the coins reach their destinations. Furthermore we would need a representative that would talk to possible project partners etc.

Sort:  

If we can get charities or scientific organizations to accept Gridcoin then users can donated directly without relying on a middleman to handle the funds.

It's good thoughts man. Only thing I see as a hurdle is that it needs to be possible to see that the funds are going to where they are supposed to.

Well I am sure there are trusty people in the Gridcoin community, like Erkan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53