Update on my BOINC "steem" engine: A new computer added...

in #gridcoin7 years ago

It’s been long time since I uploaded my last post about my BOINC “steem” Engine. Before entering in the update, let me first introduce GRIDCOIN and BOINC for the newbies to the project:

GRIDCOIN is an open source cryptocurrency (Ticker: GRC) which securely rewards volunteer computing performed upon the BOINC platform in a decentralized manner on top of proof of stake.
BOINC is an open-source volunteer computing grid which combines the processing power of all individual users for the purposes of scientific research. It's free, production ready and many projects already harness volunteered computing power to attempt to cure cancer/AIDS/Ebola/malaria, map the Milky Way galaxy, crack Enigma machine codes, etc…

(extracted from http://www.gridcoin.us/ )

So, essentially, you can dedicate your available idle or non-used computing power of mostly any laptop, computer, tablet or smartphone in order to work on complex calculations for the sake of the scientific research. In change, what you get is rewarding cryptocoins called GRIDCOIN.

Being said that, now I will resume my update:

Since the last time I posted, my “steem” engine has passed from being a Space Rocket (see this post: https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@toofasteddie/update-on-my-boinc-steem-engine-the-fall ) to a more realistic little “steem” engine so, returning to something more similar to this:

During this time, my 9 years old Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5200 @ 2.50GHz started to fail more often, sometimes I couldn’t even run it in a “Fail-safe mode”, so after a few days it finally failed to never restart again…

But, at least, it let me to back-up everything important while I ordered a new one by Amazon with the following characteristics:

The Graphic Card is a GTX1050 which will help very much working for the GPU projects.
On Friday last week the new computer arrived and I have spent a considerable time of the weekend in order to install everything, Mother board, graphic card, wires, the new UBUNTU 17.10, the EXODUS Wallet…

So, after installing and reinstalling a couple of times the GRIDCOIN-research PPA and BOINC, I managed to attach the following projects to the new computer:

As you can see, I have selected Asteroids@Home project exclusively to be processed under GPU and the other two, DrugDiscovery@Home and NFS@Home , to be processed by CPU. Will see how well the new computer works with them.
So, as summary, the current “Steem” Engine is composed by the following “parts”:

  • 2 Android Tablets
  • 1 Lenovo Laptop
  • 1 AMD-FX 4300 quadcore+NVIDIA GTX1050
  • The remains of my old Pentium Dual-core (Already died but still presenting some RAC and MAG)
  • The remains of the Google-Cloud Engine free trial already expired (as well giving me some good RAC and MAG values while decaying)

Let’s see if I can beat my best time ever earnings-a-day that reached 2.6 GRC/day, when the Google instance was at its maximum MAG and RAC.

For the time being I cannot anticipate so much what will be the average Daily GRIDCOIN I would reach, I still have to do some trials for fine tuning but will see...

On top of getting a few coins, take into account that you are also participating in the science development and, I feel that this point is much more important than anything. It is really a good way to be more efficient with your computer devices.

Keep on BOINCing!!!

@toofasteddie

Sort:  

nerd!! haha

tell me more i'm amazed by this engines!

I will man, I will...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66492.65
ETH 3309.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72