You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GridCoin Foundation First Week Update (+ Local Meetup)

in #gridcoin6 years ago

This is great initiative. Looking at the map how to get there, I think I will pass. How many, approximately, people you got there? And how many you think will gather?
About the Foundation: Are you looking to actually collect and manage funds? I would advise giving this entity/meetup a distinct name to avoid confusion with The gridcoin foundation wallet.

Sort:  

Thanks @tomasbrod, Currently I invited some of my colleagues who work in IT and Science, but to be honest most of them have no idea of this project. I am going to send official invitation to people from Belgrade University, but so far it's hard to tell. That's why I invited people I know, so we don't end up with few persons only. The first meetup is always a bit tricky to do right.

As for the foundation name, that's one of the topic on agenda to be discussed taking into account given fact. I'm sure we are going to come up with few models, but the key to success of this is to engage other people to host similar events in their local communities, so we can collaborate between communities as well.

The good thing is that we have a topic of interest (Free Boinc Powered WiFi), so I believe it's going to be a nice opening.

As for the moment, we do not operate money, but sooner or latter this will need to happen as the entity will manage projects that do have costs to run. My best bet is that we are going to be able to find people with experience in this area who will be in charge for such operations. On the other side, for the purpose of transparency, making more communities is a crucial.

Let's say this is going to be a test for the even I am planing for London, so we can minimize mistakes, as I expect much more people there if everything goes well here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 56792.82
ETH 2874.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67