Gridcoin - the time to buy is nearly now

in #gridcoin6 years ago

@jamescowens helpfully points out that the next (and hopefully final) fix to forkapalooza is nigh. When that happens, the low price of GRC will not last long. In preparation for the extravaganza let's organize the best way to get some Gridcoin.
For now, you must buy a coin like bitcoin or litecoin (litecoin is faster and has lower fees) from someone like coinbase or others; then using an exchange convert it to Gridcoin and send it on to your wallet.
So far I've noted that:

  • C-CEX is on an old (3.6) wallet. I wouldn't use them till they upgrade.
  • Poloniex won't accept me because I don't have a camera on my desktop, and the camera on my ancient laptop is apparently not capable of taking a clear picture.
  • Bittrex is not taking new customers either.
  • Flyp.me requires no registration and after my own tests, is completely easy.

I can't comment on the decentralized exchanges since once I found Flyp.me I stopped trying.

Personally I would expect a sharp uptick in the price of GRC when it goes live on the exchanges.

Ladies and gentlemen, start your browsers.
It's time to buy.

Please comment below: What channel do you plan on using to get your gridcoin?

Sort:  

For what it's worth, Poloniex is not allowing outbound GRC transfers.
And Flyp.me hasn't re-enabled GRC.
So... pretty much no good way to buy for anyone not already registered at Bittrex.

Poloniex is not allowing outbound GRC transfers since the developers has told them to suspend their wallets. Without the wallets, they can't transfer coins on the network, all they can do is trade on their own platform.

By all means, everyone rush to buy a coin that has been down for weeks because the developers don't know what a testnet is for. I'm sure as soon as exchanges reopen all the people who haven't been able to sell coins earned through proof of research won't immediately rush to the exchanges causing the price to plummet.

Its more complicated than that, Gridcoin relies in PoS, but said stakers only need to connect a few hours a time to cash in their rewards. Fixed block rewards should hopefully remove this problem.

I've just got myself a bunch of GRC on polo, 5.8k waiting for wallets to re-enable

ltc/dash/eth -> Bittrex here, but I think we should facilitate more localgridcoin type transactions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84