You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Skylake-X plowing through Asteroids@home AVX tasks

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Interesting comparison! I'm currently looking for a AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X... Have you also looked into the Threadripper before?

Sort:  

Threadripper is a very powerful CPU. It doesn't support AVX-512, but in Asteroids@home I expect it would perform as good as Skylake-X. I also considered purchasing 1950X for my new rig, but in the end I decided to play safe and bought Skylake-X, mainly to ensure compatibility with my previous rig (based on Intel's Haswell-E and X99 chipset). I didn't even have to reinstall Windows, I just cloned my SSD and it booted right away on new machine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47