You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Use your google cloud free trial!

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Hi @mxx! SETI@home is a GPU project, and having CPUs working on it, is just a waste of your electricity, and google cloud credit. I recommend you to switch to one of the non GPU projects (have a look on the Gridcoin Whitelist)

Sort:  

Discouraging CPU's just because a project has massive GPU competition is kinda BS, yes virtual hardware vs GPU's is pointless but trying to make seti@home sound like only GPU's can crunch it really is bunk. Some people actually dedicate their hardware and crunch what they believe in and something that interests them vs the other projects and EVERY project is a loss on electricity when it comes to GRC payout for the work you do $.01 per every $1.00 power is about right in return , Gridcoin is not a get rich quick scheme.
Now past that , i hope you did not follow the guides that say to spin up 4 x 2 core 1.8gb machines although running seti that would be just fine , but I found 2 x 4 core 3.8gb machines more worth while but I was crunching asteroids@home at that time. Crunch what you want to and what you believe in and the science that interests you... Seti@home is a CPU project too...

I appreciate your comment @jamezz! Some more clarifications from my side: idea is not to get rich with Gridcoin, maybe to pay a small portion of the electricity bill. I do not discourage people to run one project or another, but we have plenty of interesting projects, and some of them can not be computed by GPUs (either the software is not properly developed, or the algorithms are not suitable for huge parallel computing). GPUs are very good at processing Seti@Home, therefore I recommend people to let them for GPUs and put their CPUs on projects that are not running on GPUs, and would really appreciate some additional CPUs to crunch their data.

Okay thanks for the info! Yeah I'm crunching seti most of the time because I really like the project! I don't really crunch because I want to get grc. I have not enough grc in my wallet to stake anyways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67