HOLY GRIDCOIN BATMAN - Gridcoin (GRC) soars over 30% to new all time highs of nearly 21 cents!

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)


#Gridcoin is quickly becoming an outperformer in 2018.


Even as the rest of the market falls today, Gridcoin surges!

With a massive pre-existing user base on BOINC which has barely begun to be tapped, it seems likely #Gridcoin could go up 10x or more this year. Gridcoin rewards users for doing scientific computations via BOINC. BOINC volunteers have been doing these computations for years even before Gridcoin and are just waiting to learn about Gridcoin.


Excellent GRC Go - Gridcoin Price Tracker - @nateonthenet


Gridcoin on CoinMarketCap

Anyone interest in Gridcoin should start at http://gridcoin.us If you have any questions just ask!

Sort:  

Hey man, I don't want to be a downer, but 5 out of 10 of your posts have been speculative GRC price posts. While they are fun and okay every once in a while, I want to express a note of a concern with regards to how they make the community look when new users show up.

We want to make sure they know that we are a science and data analysis community, not a speculation coin.

You know I respect you and mean nothing personal by this = )

Price and success go hand in hand here though, and GRC's recently (and rightfully) exploding price are just too exciting not to want to make posts about, given how long Gridcoin has been underestimated compared with other projects like Golem (blek.)

Gridcoin is definitely 100% a science and world betterment project, but because of the amazing real world potential, it naturally has fantastic fundamentals and investment opportunity. I suspect the rising price will be a big help for researchers in the future via GRC rain. I think you have a pretty good idea of my personal feelings, but you're certainly right about people who are less familiar with Gridcoin and the community.

Even more than Gridcoin, my interest remains with BOINC and all those poor, unused CPU and GPU cycles. Someone needs to take a stand for them!

I hope just to get a few new users to pay attention to the coin with these posts. New users will come for the gains and stay for the incredible community!

PS. Just noticed your profile picture is Settlers of Catan. Excellent!

It is! Unfortunately, I did not get the longest road card for my circle of 3's =(.

I think price and success do not go hand in hand. Mainly, it depends on your definition of success, but for example I'd suggest looking at ESOPs -- Employee Stock Ownership Plans. They often sacrifice the price of the stock for the success of their other goals, mainly, not having bosses (to put it in incredibly simple terms).

If we assume price and success go hand in hand, as you suggest, then it follows that there are some very successful cryptocurrencies that haven't done anything in years and don't even have active development teams or communities!

From a marketing perspective, many scientists and "altruists", or people who understand money but are more focused on doing good, see price-focused content in the crypto-realm and immediately walk away -- crypto is already tarnished with the image of greed, I do not think we need to further enforce this image. I understand excitement and enthusiasm... we're at 20 cents for pete's sake! but I think it is important to consider that half of your posts are about price. 1 out of ten sounds about right, not 5 out of ten.

Thank you for the calm discussion. I'm always nervous about challenging people on steemit. I always try to be respectful, but as I'm sure you've seen, things can get out of hand very quickly.

You're entirely right about how companies chasing short term stock price gains often make terrible decisions for the long term, but I don't think it's a strong parallel to cryptocurrencies.

Price does not equal success for sure, but lack of adequate price does indicate a failure somewhere.

Back when Bitcoin came out I heard about it, but my impression was, "I'm crunching for science... I'm not going to pull my CPU off that to just generate heat."

The reality is that unlike 8-10 years ago, BOINC is not the only game in town. We're not the only ones vying for people's CPU and GPU time. Even altruists have to eat at the end of the day, and so the more profitable running BOINC is, the happier I am, because the more people will do it. As I mentioned, I have always and would always do it even without any monetary reward, but the reality is that many people would not.

Regarding the number of posts on Gridcoin's price, I only post them for new all time highs. It just so happens that Gridcoin is booming these past few weeks. I doubt my Gridcoin related posts surging up #crypto and #boinc have been hurting in that regard.

I would say, don't worry about the entire project being tainted by a couple of posts. If Gridcoin was so lacking in intrinsic value that a couple of price related posts would turn people off, we'd have much bigger problems on our hands.

I feel that anyone who looks at Gridcoin for a few minutes should be able to see this is something special. If price is what gets them in the door, that's okay with me, as long as they are dedicating their computing power to folding proteins or studying the stars, as opposed to running pointless hash calculations they might otherwise be doing.

Thank you for the calm discussion. I'm always nervous about challenging people on steemit. I always try to be respectful

Always respect your opinion @jringo. We don't always agree, but always respect! Reminds me of a quote from Kurt Vonnegut's The Sirens of Titan :

There is room enough for an awful lot of people to be right about things and still not agree.

Very good points. Very good quote. Very good talk.

= )

How much SBD do you have my god.

Don't let the numbers fool you. I've invested heavily in boosting these posts to promote Gridcoin. The payout will more or less just recoup what I've spent.

I am willing to give 1/5 of my stash for about 1 $ per coin. For the rest they have to pay way way more :D

You got upvoted at 7.31% from @adriatik bot! We want to give a BIG thank you to you for using our service. We really hope this will hope to promote your quality content! If you have any suggestion to make, feel free to contact @adriatik by commenting below

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67477.32
ETH 3474.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69