Sort:  

Thank you very much! I will be attempting this.

One thing I forgot, change the password to login to the pi, username 'pi' password 'raspberry' is begging to get hacked, password update is option 1 in 'sudo raspi-config'

Wow, that was fast. Thanks a lot for those instructions. Is its performance actually good enough to make a significant impact? I don't really think so considering how many other players let their GPUs running 24/7. It's still a cool idea, though and I'll try it out for myself as soon as I can fix my Raspberry Pi...

You wont be competing against GPUs on a Raspberry Pi, the projects that support Pi are CPU only. Still a single Pi on its own is not going to have much impact.
I would suggest its much easier to setup and learn gridcoin on a standard windows/linux computer, running Pis isnt a good place to start, the learning curve will be very steep for you.

Don't you underestimate me. ;-) I don't think it will pose a huge challenge for me to get things running on a Pi.

But on the other hand, you are of course right that I could make a much higher impact with a better machine. Unfortunately, I don't have any fast system at hand these days.

Ha ha no I dont underestimate you at all, but some people find understanding BOINC + Gridcoin hard, then adding a command line only Raspberry Pi experience on top is quite a lot.
I have not covered in this post; how to select and sign up for projects, how to issue a beacon, what the reasons are to solo mine versus pool mine (and how that changes the setup process), and probably some other things I forgot too.

No problem at all. The instructions are clear enough. Thank you once again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55216.42
ETH 2325.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33