You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update -- BOINCing on Android Devices

in #gridcoin7 years ago

On my Android devices (2 x Galaxy S6 and a Sony Xperia Tab 4) I set the battery temperature to 30 deg C. I have found that leaving it at the default 40 deg C eventually causes the battery to swell up.
I believe the issue is that Li-Ion batteries are sensitive to heat while charging, and if you have them plugged in 24/7 and crunching it can be a bit too much.

Great to see your experiments there, I use WCG on my Android devices so we cant compare RAC unfortunately.

Sort:  

Hi @scalextrix you maybe right about the temperature issue. I will launch some research on that... But anyways I guess that I will switch over to WCG it simply has some of the best projects under his umbrella. I will once in a while so another update to see how mag is evolving there...

I just started mining on my phone, and what I do is I set an old cpu heatsink on the back of the phone while I have it plugged in at night. It does a pretty good job sucking out excess heat. I may swap it for a bigger one though. You can also wire up the fan to another phone charger to push air across its fins for longer mining times.

Nice idea, I can't imagine my Mrs allowing that on my nightstand though! I do put my phone on my metal bedside lamp base, it's not great but it helps a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49