You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Join the GCC (Gridcoin chess club)

in #gridcoin7 years ago

I don't know why, but I'm unable to answer on the forum. Maybe it's because I'm to newly registered user?

I'm not new to chess, I'm far from any expert play this will be fun to do, but I'm new to online tournaments of it. How does it work? You mention various types of tournaments, but they don't mean anything to me :D

With and without time increment. What does it mean that it has time increment?
Does the play time mean you have to finish the game within the specified team and that the one with the best score wins if it's not completed by the end of the time?

I would like it to be on a weekend :)
The question is about the time and how many timezones we have to cover. An evening game is good for me in UTC (like 3-9 PM UTC).

Sort:  

Maybe it's because I'm to newly registered user?

I'll ask around. Could it be that you didn't see/solve the captcha (it's in the form of a checkmate situation with 1 move left) ? to post you need to solve a captcha, it's at the bottom of the page

How does it work? You mention various types of tournaments, but they don't mean anything to me :D

  1. A tournament is created and then users join (by clicking the green Join-button)
  2. And when the tourney starts, the site coordinates the games.
    Based on your games, over time, it will give you same level opponents
    So, if you want fair opponents, you could play some games before we make the tourney
    Best is to join some tournaments beforehand, you can also just look how others play, without joining. On lichess there are like 5-10 tournaments per hour.

With and without time increment. What does it mean that it has time increment?
Does the play time mean you have to finish the game within the specified team and that the one with the best score wins if it's not completed by the end of the time?

e.g. a 15 minutes game with no increment means: both players have only 15 minutes. And the winner is who checkmates the other first, or who has not exceeded his 15 minutes
a 3 minutes and 2 second increment game is like this: everybody has 3 minutes at start and for every of your own moves you get additionally 2 seconds

I would like it to be on a weekend :)

I have asked some more people, and it seems so far it will be weekend, will post later more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59163.23
ETH 2524.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51