Should GridCoin has a treasury to fund a research activity in real world directly?

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

GridCoin one of the good examples of crypto targeting to help research community, right? So, should we think to have a modification in the protocol to create a treasury as Dash crypto has? Just imagine what it could bring to developing countries, as well as to developed ones. Nowadays, to get a research grant is getting to become more and more difficult. Maybe, this idea is already discussed somewhere, but I've never seen it before.

The GridCoin community could itself select the most interesting research groups to finance their research or researchers could demand a financial support.

Of course, we as a community should decide what should be financed and what not, but how it could be done is a matter of big debate?

I truly believe that GridCoin could develop faster if it will start to gather scientific community around it. GridCoin could grow in the future into science sustaining distributed organization.

Could it be interesting?

Sort:  

This topic pops up from time to time. But it won't come to life by itself. Someone has to lobby for this solution, to research details and make it happen. Someone is us, among others you and me. Thus engage in the community and help in development!

Well said! That's one of the great things about Gridcoin -- anyone can participate in development and work towards bringing cool ideas to life. I've always like the Gridcoin treasury idea, so we should definitely put it on the list of cool ideas.

While we do have the Gridcoin foundation account for Gridcoin. It isn't used to give research grants or really anything like that. Gridcoin's voting system could be modified to add the functionality of community issued research grants. It could make headlines and make new science! @saldenisov, I recommend putting this in the Gridcoin-Task GitHub:
https://github.com/gridcoin-community/Gridcoin-Tasks/issues

Welcome to the community! I agree with you that we should be seeking to bring the larger scientific community into Gridcoin. I also agree that building a treasury system and a means to distribute the funds raised by that treasury are critical to sustained and long-term growth. Personally, I do not believe that a masternode system like Dash is the answer.

I do however, believe there are answers. I agree with @Hotbit and @roboticmind that we must build them. I invite you to take a look at the two initiatives I have begun and will be contributing to as I find more time in the approaching days and weeks. I also invite you to contribute your skills and knowledge to the endeavor!

Raising Treasury Funds (along with non-treasury funds)
Releasing Treasury Funds

I also encourage you to keep an eye out for an updated Gridcoin whitepaper which discussed a Gridcoin Grant system intended to fund researchers and scientists (with any luck... and some help with development!).

Note: I have self-upvoted my comment only to get it above the introduction post

At this particular moment, I've just started looking into the GridCoin code, it would take a while, but I'm ready to contribute from ideological point of view, being a part of research community (physical-chemistry domain) I know some weak point of modern science, and what is more important I have many colleagues to discuss issues related to GridCoin development.

I would love to get your feedback on a whitepaper under development -- it is mostly ideological -- would you be open to joining us on slack or discord?

I am ready to join. What is the channel on slack and where I can send my email so you can invite me?

done

It says "Team Gridcoin
Failed! the token you entered is wrong."

done

Loading...

Yes. a treasury that could act as a granting organization is a great idea. Every academic scientist dreams of getting big grants. If we have the structure and the funds then it would be a great help for these researchers and allows us to participate in non-computational science as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41