Voting should be more prominent on the main wallet page

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

Good evening everyone

After reading a post by personthingman2 on the official reddit, I thought it would be a good idea to discuss voting.

Right now, voting has a very small portion of the main page and it doesnt allow voting directly on the page. I think this should be changed to allow voting and also include a link directly to the proposal.

Here's an example of what it could look like. Enjoy my amazing paint skills.

I think it would be better then forcing people to click on the voting tab just to know what polls are going on and it might bring in more participation.

PS: There's a lot of wasted real estate at the top between the Gridcoin/Boinc logos which could be used for announcements like new wallet versions and what not.

Edit: Thanks to the admin of grcpool for adding the capacity to vote for polls on it!

Sort:  

I think there's already a new design in the bakery, but it focuses on the new logos and a modern, slim design. When it's done we should definitly look into making voting more prominent

Definitely worth waiting to see what the new UI brings then

I'm so excited for the new UI, been waiting for quite some time for it. I'm a sucker for good design.

The problem is elsewhere. In order to vote, you have to stake first. Otherwise you have no right to vote.
Excuse me, but who set those rules? So even if you crunch and keep wallet online, but you do not have 2k+ coins and/or are unlucky, you are not allowed to decide about the project.
This must change.

That's also a good point

I would agree with your complaint based on principle, but from a practical point of viewthis is insignificant. An investor who has so little GRC that he is unable to stake? Then it follows that his vote would be insignificant in any poll. Would you spend 10 developer hours for bringing an extra %0.01 voting share to the poll?

I have all the bazillions!

Nice idea dude !!! And if you want to pay your coffee with 1 bazillion, you know where to find me ahah ^^

great idea dude. I started steemit yesterday. I also wrote an mini article on gridcoin. This is really better idea.

I totally agree, I would like to see important announcements on the wallet home page and perhaps have the poll announcement snippet be a clickable link to open the voting page or show more detail on the main window.
With wallet automatic updates currently disabled and likely to be optional in subsequent releases it would be helpful to have a prominent notification either when new wallet versions are released or when the wallet detects that it is a lower version than the majority of nodes on the network.

I think it's messier than just having a simple indicator of new polls to check..

I'm no designer. Whatever works to get people interested in polls as long as the job gets done :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43