Commercial Projects: Cyclone Feature ideasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Right now there arent really any commercial projects AFAIK because gridcoin is using exclusively boinc but in the future there may be for profit projects in which case I think there should be a fee paid to the network for it's computing power as a whole. I'm not against commercial projects unlike many because they are still fulfilling one of the core principles of Gridcoin, they're not wasting energy on useless hashing.

Right now it's possible to rain projects individually but such a venture should be required to rain for gridcoin as a whole and not just one project to ensure that crunchers do it by choice and not because it's x times more profitable when you add the rained value to the equation.

Right now it's possible to rain manually one project or do a script to do it but it would be interesting to implement a method by which it would be possible to rain large amounts of Gridcoin (let's say 1k+) split evenly between all projects. Which is why I called it Cyclone, Tsunami could be interesting as well but it's not the same thing. :p

I'm not a dev by any means but having Rain already, it seems to me that it wouldnt be the hardest thing to implement and it could help grow Gridcoin significantly in the future.

Having a feature like this would allow to implement requirements for these commercial projects.
Example: 1000 GRC rained per X TFLOPS of compute done.

link to my post on github

Sort:  

I think the infrastructure is available. If you are a commercial project you can easily set up an instance of boinc server. Then you can track who is working how much with the CPID and then use the rain code to rain proportionally. If workers see that you are true to your word (if the payout algorithm is transparent) and you are offering competitive payout, then they would work on your project. So it's up to the computational demand, the technology supply is already there.

we need to remove team requirements. grc should not havr trivial constraints like team requirements.

I agree but I'm not sure this post is the right subject for it. Make a post for it and I'll upvote the shit out of it :p (as far as my limited capacity allows me hah)

there arent really any commercial projects AFAIK because gridcoin is using exclusively boinc

Commercial project can be set up using BOINC platform, so this is not the reason.

... such a venture should be required to rain for gridcoin as a whole and not just one project ...

How raining on participants of all projects at once would help project C? It's not clearly explained, so maybe I haven't understood your idea....

Commercial project can be set up using BOINC platform, so this is not the reason.

I thought you couldnt. Thanks for the info :o

How raining on participants of all projects at once would help project C? It's not clearly explained, so maybe I haven't understood your idea....

I wanted it to be a choice rather then an economic incentive. If you just make it rain on the project itself, it becomes an economic incentive.

Commercial project can be set up using BOINC platform, so this is not the reason.

To double-check this, one could go look at the licensing info on the BOINC github page. I think the license is as broad is it could be, so I'm pretty sure you're right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81