You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Regarding the New Technology Rebase Poll and GRC 4.0-2018 Roadmap Proposals

in #gridcoin7 years ago

I posted to the CCT thread regarding Rob's proposal. I encouraged him to come here and discuss it. I hope he answers my questions. Thanks for posting this here.

Sort:  

Regarding what you said about how voting in the client works:

It makes sense to me that owning more Gridcoin and contributing more IPP means you have a greater say in the direction of Gridcoin. You are the investor in the first case and the participant in the second. The problems I see are wealth distribution (5 people 50 addresses own 48% of all Gridcoin or something like that -- don't quote me, I cant look it up right now) and the weight relationship between "Balance Owned" and "IPP Contribution (magnitude)". Right now, by my understanding, owning GRC gives you a greater share of power when compared to contributing IPP to BOINC. These seems wrong to me.

Fortunately, most of the high balance wallet owners are known among the community, so if one person puts all their weight against 500 other people, the community knows. The current 18 million GRC-weighted vote is Rob. In that situation, and under the current voting system, I would hope that high balance users, particularly those who have a high vote weight solely due to GRC balance, would limit their vote weight to that of the highest voter with a high Mag weight, or find some other solution that disallows them from "owning" the development of the project.

I think the next major improvements outside of the general protocols and codebase need to be on the voting structure, the funding structure, and the organization structure. I think your ideas for the voting structure hold potential and should be explored, but for now, we've got what we've got.

Personally, I will commit myself to the improvement of these 3 structures as best I can... after we get a roadmap for 2018. I think we can get all three structures situated with nice and sturdy foundations within a year.

I also hope he answers your questions, and all of mine, and all of CM's, and all of everyone's lol = ). There was not a lot of information in this proposal and 0 discussion. I would particularly like to hear his vision for the project.

Thank you for being involved!

Edit: 50 addresses own 48% of all Gridcoin. Keep in mind that 1 person might control more than 1 of these addresses.

Source: https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@erkan/the-top50-grc-addresses-own-48-of-all-gridcoins

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54290.46
ETH 2276.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31