Gridcoin weekly project update - 01/Jan/18

in #gridcoin7 years ago (edited)

Here is another Gridcoin project stats update. Every week I look at the project chart developments and highlight an interesting aspect, this time it is the USD earings per 1k system RAC output for individual projects.

Gridcoin is an open source cryptocurrency (Ticker: GRC) which securely rewards volunteer computing performed upon the BOINC platform in a decentralized manner on top of proof of stake (Source: 1)

Since I started collecting data for individual whitelisted projects, the Gridcoin USD price has increased sharply. Today the coin reached another all-time high, which is a fantastic achievement. But how does it work-out for the individual projects? Have all projects benefited from this general increase of value?

To confirm this, I compiled an overview of 23 out 26 whitelisted projects. Enigma@home and DrugsDiscovery@home were excluded because they moved from CPU to GPU (test) mining during this period, and Sourcefinder has only been whitelisted 4 weeks ago.

The table below presents the following information per project:

  1. USD earnings per 1k system RAC on 14-Aug-17
  2. USD earnings per 1k system RAC on 01-Jan-18
  3. USD earnings percentage change over the last 4.5 months per 1k system RAC output

With the steep increase in Gridcoin USD value, I already expected to see all projects in positive territory and this was confirmed in the table above. On the other hand, there is a substantial difference between the highest and lowest percentage increases. Six projects have outperformed the overall Gridcoin price increase while 17 projects have lagged.

And here is the table of GRC and USD earnings per 1k system RAC plus the charts for all whitelisted projects. The definitions per indicator can be found at the end of the article.


(Source: 2,3,4)

Sources:

  1. Gridcoin
  2. Gridcoinstats
  3. BOINCStats
  4. CoinMarketCap


Thanks for reading. Follow me for more BOINC & Gridcoin related articles.

Sort:  

thanks for sharing , ill check it out.

You're welcome @jsonkid, its great when you and others find this article interesting.

Always cool to see some stats. My OCD looks forward these posts. :)

#bitcoin
i have not tried bitcoin, before what i should do

I can't give you advise on Bitcoin but I would strongly suggest to look at Gridcoin as it is one of only a few cryptocurrencies that harnass PC computing power around the world to support science.

Thanks for sharing this stats about grc

When Drugdiscovery start GPU??? Now only in test as I know. That is my main project on CPU.

I agree @zwirzu that DD@H is only testing GPU mining but if you look at the charts it has affected the RAC output and earnings dramatically. Nevertheless, I have modified the text above to reflect your comments, thanks.

For CPU which one is most profitable?? I read the instructions how to choose projecs but there is no simple answer there. Only criteria I know is to choose that with les users.

I'm planning to publish a number of articles in the coming weeks where I hope to support the community in this selection process. It will based on the "calculated RAC per CPU" from where you can calculate the amount of Gridcoins per day based on the table above.

Good article. Lots of material to read. Glad to see Gridcoin on the rise lately. At one point on Bittrex it hit USD $0.20 so there is lots of future in it :)
I am trying to help those who find it a bit difficult to install and setup BOINC and Gridcoin wallets. If you know someone needs help send them my way.
My latest article: https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@nickpar/the-unofficial-usd-i-o-usd-guide-to-mining-gridcoin-pool-style

And I "followed" you, looking forward to more good posts :)

#bitcoin
My head has a headache thinking about the bitcoin price now because its selling it

#bitcoin
why should bitcoin, many other virtual currencies

#bitcoin
why yes bitcoin price rise, can you explain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39