You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A important warning to everyone trying to run cosmology@home in cpus with more than 8 threads.

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the advice, I am only crunching Cosmology on a PC without VitrualBox so I haven't run into this problem but I will bookmark this article for future reference.
I have used app_config.xml to restrict memory hungry projects on my low spec computers but this is a much more detailed fix than I would have created on my own.

In windows, make sure you are using the UTF-8 enconding, and not the ANSI one

I have created ANSI encoded (default encoding for Notepad) app_config.xml files on Windows without any problems but it's also advice I will keep on file in case the encoding does ever cause issues for me.

Fellow BOINC hackers can find general information about the use of app_info.xml at https://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Client_configuration

Sort:  

thats not hacking its pretty well known you can create and edit app xml files , you can even run multiple threads on GPU's , that too is not hacking its called configuring your setup.

I meant hacker as in a computer operator using some ingenuity to overcome a problem. Since the use of app_config.xml requires knowledge of the BOINC system beyond its everyday use I consider it a basic hack.
I was using the word hacker as way of creating a distinction between users who are willing to take extra steps to optimize their systems and users who prefer automatically configured settings or GUI based configuration tools.
Some definitions of Hacker:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hacker (definition 1)
http://www.catb.org/jargon/html/meaning-of-hack.html
https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/hacker (definition 1.1)
I did not intend to imply malicious or unauthorized activity.

Hacking depends a lot on context . Manipulating images used to be called hacking too. Its one of the most peculiar examples of language evolution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02