You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gridcoin Science: FightAIDS@Home - Finding a cure, one protein at the time

in #gridcoin7 years ago

I just started playing around with gridcoin last night. Was up until 3am last night learning stuff. :)

Question about the data: https://www.gridcoinstats.eu/project/

When I look at World Community Grid, I see -1 and -1 for WUs available and in progress. What does that mean? That's the project I happened to join. I'm just playing around with my Macbook Air laptop, so it's probably pointless to think I could get anything meaningful done as far as BOINC goes. Should I not bother or should I try to find a project which doesn't have many people on it? I have about 35k gridcoin and I saw your note about 50k staking every day. How big is the stake reward? I'm looking at stuff like this https://www.gridcoinstats.eu/block#pk_campaign=gridresearchcorp but it seems the outputs are all different. It's based on a 1.5% annual reward, right? Also, from what I was reading, it seems like once your coins stake, they have to age again to stake the next time. If that's true, do people often just turn off their node after staking since there's no incentive to keep it running until they can stake again?

Any other places you suggest I go for more info? I'm learning a lot. I really like the idea of a cryptocoin that actually helps improve the world in tangible ways. :)

Sort:  

Welcome @lukestokes!

Nice to have you here.

  1. The reason that WCG is -1 in the list is because they don't have any Work Unity progress page like most other BOINC projects. We simply have nothing to display.
  2. 35k GRC should suffice to stake daily what I know of.
  3. The stake reward is indeed 1.5% of your coins per year.
  4. The research reward is a little more complicated, you should look in my ELI5 post I did yesterday about Gridcoin, it explains it in a simple manner.
  5. You can read more by browsing the #gridcoin tag here, or the Wiki at http://wiki.gridcoin.us.

If you want to chat with others we have an IRC channel, a Telegram Group, a Forum, a Slack channel among others.

Thank you!

I'll check out your post and keep learning. Hopefully I can understand this enough to do a post for my followers at some point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60295.64
ETH 3298.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37