You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gridcoin Research Wallet Tips and Tricks for New Users

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Unfortunately I had to stop mining on my macbook air because my computer kept locking up with stuff like process VBoxHeadless[41181] caught causing excessive wakeups in the logs. Might be that my little computer wasn't meant to handle the big jobs which require more memory than it has or something. Kind of sad about that though because I enjoyed having my little computer working away while I slept. Maybe some day I'll figure out how to get things set up on an AWS account or something.

Sort:  

That's unfortunate that your computer 💻 can't cope with the work units. Did you try more than one project?

Did you try without Virtual Box?

Earn 1.5% APR

You can always invest in thr coin and earn a steady 1.5% APR on your assets. It's a good way of supporting the community and invest in a coin that has infinite growth potentials.

Did you try more than one project?

Yeah, I think it was the LHC@Home that taxed the computer most. Maybe I could try again by removing that one. But having my computer lock up on me is not a good thing, so it's probably best not to try on this computer.

Did you try without Virtual Box?

Not sure how to do that as I thought the the work units are packaged as virtual box units?

1.5%

If I started as a researcher and now my magnitude is 0, I'm kind of stuck, right? Would I have to somehow set up a different wallet and send my gridcoin there to just do the staking only?

There seems to be more people noticing this very issue with other programs on Mac, Excessive Wakeups @ Official Mac Forum.

Regarding Virtual Box, it's a selection of with or without Virtual Box for the Windows Boinc client at http://boinc.berkeley.edu/download_all.php. But it doesn't seem to be for Mac.

Regarding the 0 Magnitude issue. You can edit the configuration file and comment out the path to the BOINC software. This will make the client change to Investor Mode and you will not have any issues with staking pur interest blocks instead.

I noticed running virtual box froze my system. I had to discontinue vm and running direct.

Try a project like yoyo or TN-Grid for CPU researching. They are quite profitable and don't use VirtualBox. I hate VirtualBox :-)

I configured my free Ubunto-Linux server on AWS a few weeks ago. AWS steps users through a fairly simple process that took about two hours. After setting up the server I updated Ubuntu, downloaded and configured the BOINC client via the command line. Learning the BOINC command line options took a little while via Wiki, but again, a simple process. I may turn up a paid server because the free instance uses only a single core and therefore does not have much RAC.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49