You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Crash Course on the Utility of Gridcoin

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Yeah, likely the superblock issue.

But as I always say: Gridcoin is not a scam coin, it's science. And science always takes a bit longer. You PoR rewards are "stored" for 6 month. You will stake in that time (if you have your wallet unlocked for staking that is)

Sort:  

If my staking chances are high (it's says I should stake within 1 or 2 days... it goes back and forth, yet it's been a few days) but my PoR are very low (I'm currently just playing around on my laptop to see what's possible), does that mean I won't stake because the chances are combined together?

But yeah, from all the reading I've done on forums, reddit, Steemit, etc the answer is often "just wait a week and see what happens." I'd just love to know that I have everything properly configured... I think I do, but I can't know for sure until I see those glorious rewards coming in. Hehehe. I am seeing my work accepted at the two projects I sign up for, so that's cool. I really like the idea behind this coin working to improve the world.

if it says within 1 or 2 days you will probably stake a few times a day. the amount you receive per stake depends on the balance of the client combined with your contributions to BOINC -- you don't need to be boincing to stake. HOWEVER xD. because you have 0 magnitude you cannot stake. that is another issue currently being explored.

I thought the 0 magnitude might be a problem. Here's hoping for the next superblock soon! :)

Are you all fixed?

I see we just had a super block three hours ago... but my magnitude is still 0. :(

What am I doing wrong? Any ideas as to what I can do next? Do I need to keep my CPID private? Client message says probing coin age.

Bummer that this seems so tricky to get going. Even when I started, I had to build the client for my mac from source because homebrew failed:

==> Installing git-jiro/jiro/gridcoin dependency: Git-Jiro/jiro/qt4gridcoin
==> Downloading https://dl.bintray.com/cartr/bottle-qt4/qt4gridcoin-4.8.7_4.el_capitan.bottle.tar.gz

curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 404 Not Found
Error: Failed to download resource "qt4gridcoin"
Download failed: https://dl.bintray.com/cartr/bottle-qt4/qt4gridcoin-4.8.7_4.el_capitan.bottle.tar.gz
Warning: Bottle installation failed: building from source.

Seems it's been an uphill battle since then. My Boinc Manager has me on the Gridcoin teams for the two projects I'm on and my gridcoin wallet does show me doing something for the world community grid:

Any thoughts to get me going? Should I jump into IRC and ask around there?

Thanks for your help. At least I can be happy that both the projects I'm doing work for are submitting and working. I happened to start when the world computing grid went down this past weekend.

I would go to IRC for help.

You'll find lots of helpful users with loadsa knowledge there.

yeah I'd jump into irc to troubleshoot this

Thanks.

I searched for my CPID on gridcoinstats, and it didn't come up. :(

Maybe that means I need to resend my beacon or my RAC is still too low...

Things are updating correctly on boincstats.

I'm just getting started though:

Contribution to Team total RAC 0.01867%
Contribution to Team total RAC 0.00341%

Those seems like really low numbers. I'll try IRC.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39