You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Progress On BOINC Parallel Implementation of my Lab's Brain Model

in #gridcoin7 years ago

I wonder if you've heard of the late James Albus, who wrote about hierarchy in the brain back in the late 70s. He did a 3 part series on his CMAC theory in Byte magazine, and there is a scan of it here: https://archive.org/stream/byte-magazine-1979-08-rescan/1979_08_BYTE_04-08_LISP#page/n67/mode/2up Your first picture reminded me of his work. He was modelling the cerebellum if I recall correctly.

Sort:  

That was a really good read - and no, I was not familiar with that work before. It appears that James Albus was aiming to generate a model of the brain's high level functioning such as decision making and pattern recognition, whereas we aim to model the brain's ionic functioning on a sub-cellular level.

Nevertheless, I will be digging into his models some more. Thank you for the link!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68606.74
ETH 3912.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64