Introduction - Hello All!

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Hello All,

Just a short introduction. I've managed to keep myself going on this planet for 40+ years now. Not a bad run so far...

I've always been a techie. I would take apart electronics at home from a very young age. Now, I do it for a living. I build, test and configure some of the most powerful machines in the world. I get a swell of pride every time I see a system I worked on in the top500.org list.

I've been BOINCing for a long time. I stumbled across Gridcoin about 2 years ago and got myself set up. Since then I've been doing pretty well and got a friend involved as well.

I'm looking forward to the future with GRC. I have a feeling that it will produce great results.

I do have a couple questions:

With all the forking that's been happening of late, how can a user verify they are on the longest chain? What's a good way to verify you're not on a fork?

I've also seen some people commenting on how they are looking at the length of the different forks. How exactly do you view this?

Thanks in advance!

Sort:  

Hey @jlamb75,

welcome to the community! Even if a start is a bit complicated due to the forking issue, it is more than worth it to stick around! :)

Thanks @dysprosium! I've been running GRC for a couple years now and have no plans to stop any time soon. I see a lot of potential.

This steemit-post has the necessary information to know if you're on a fork or not:
https://steemit.com/gridcoin/@cautilus/psa-what-to-do-if-your-difficulty-0-1-and-or-net-weight-300-000-i-e-if-you-re-on-a-fork-windows

But here simple steps cause the wall of text in the linked post is not really readable:

  1. Open the wallet-console (Wallet -> Help -> Debug Window -> Console-Tab in new window)
  2. Enter "getblockhash 123" without the quotes and change the 123 to the latest block you see in your wallet (under total, above difficulty) and you'll get the hash for this block
  3. Go to website gridcoin.network and search for this block number
  4. Compare the returned hash with the one in your console
  5. If both are the same, you're not on a fork (at least if gridcoin.network is not on a fork)
  6. If they are not the same, repeat the steps with a lower block number till you find the last matching hash
  7. Go again to your console and enter "reorganize A1B2C3" without quotes and replace A1B2C3 with the last matching hash (not the block number!)
  8. Wait till the wallet is in sync
  9. If you're then again on a fork (Difficulty=0.000), repeat this steps and find the next invalid hash

The only easy way (as far I know) to see the different chains is to use the gridcoinstats status-page (under About -> Gridcoinstats.eu).

The gridcoinstats status page! Thank you! I didn't know that page was there.

There is one problem with the method @dudebaker posted above: you have to assume gridcoin.network is on the best (main) fork. Last few days literally everyone had problems including other blockchain explorers. I'm not aware of a bullet proof method.

True, the last few days has been a minefield. I finally got my wallet on what appears to be the primary chain and have been stable for the past 24 hours or so.

Welcome to the community!

Thanks @gregan! Nice to be here.

Congratulations @jlamb75! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jlamb75! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12