You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gridcoin Guide For Odroid (running BOINC)

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Many thanks for this interesting read! I'm planning to do exactly the same when I get back home. Why didn't you buy the actively cooled version. Hardkernel has a solid reputation. I don't think you'd have to work about temps with that one.

Sort:  

When googling I found a lot of people complaining about the noise. That's why I thought the newer version with the heat sink might be a good idea. In the end I am not sure if the version with the regular cooler would be sufficient for the load that Boinc creates. Maybe someone else can tell us :)

I have three of these, all with the active cooler. One fan has failed (after about 2 months), but the other two are still working. They run in the low 80s, but still throttle to 1.9 Ghz.

For the one that no longer has a working fan, I moved it in front of a cheap usb fan, which seems to keep it nice and cool.

IMG_20170826_090611951.jpg

The two that have a working active cooler on-board are on the right, and the one that needs an external fan is buried on the bottom of the pile.

The Ordoid MC1 seems pretty cool.

Thank you for that information :)

Unfortunately this morning my Odroid crashed again. I can't control the boinc-client from SSH and when I just SSH into the Odroid and try to run any command it gives me an input/output error. I had this problem already and thought that my SD card was corrupt, so i bought a new one. Now it happened again.
I am on ubuntu minimal. Have you experienced similar problems?

Mine have been very stable, more so since abandoning WiFi and going to Ethernet. They're running a full desktop OS (Ubuntu Mate). You can find it here. I use x11VNC to view/control them.

Though I must say, since having to learn how to use SSH and command line BOINC with a few other SBCs, I do prefer it and I won't bother with a full desktop on any new machines I get my hands on.

I tried ubuntu mate as well, but had the same problems just after a few hours. Yesterday I switched to Arch Linux, maybe I will have more luck with it. It this is unstable as well, maybe there is something wrong with my Odroid? : /

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64249.62
ETH 3184.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48