You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am close to 3 Billion BOINC credits! Celebrating with a 20k GRC giveaway - Claim your part of this $1600 reward!

in #gridcoin7 years ago

Congrats and much respect , you earned it and have the stats to show it! I have been around for that length of time myself too going back pre B.O.I.N.C. and back to the seti@home alpha days with private invites like when gmail beta came out but more elite feeling and far less people and for you to have kept the same user/login to migrate from an openGL only screen saver processing an area around the 3.5mhz RF spectrum averaging 1 WU every few days ( 5-7 that is per WU ) to process 1/100th the current seti@home WU data payload! BOGOMIPS FTW! That is the full time from birth to adult here in the USA , 18 years and I am thinking back to seti@home Y2K! Unfortunately when I learned of Gridcoin I created as always over the past two decades another user in the seti@home user base mucking up the database but wish I could had revived my original or '05 user because it would be really cool to show such a long history of being attached and related to the project('s) and the science of the BOINC/distributed commuting side if things!

P.S : Sooooo , my advise to all of us in Team Gridcoin or for that matter any B.O.I.N.C. user is to update your email address if you drop or change them. When I started most people were still on dialup and yahoo email was the new thing and it was to get away from your ISP (for most people AOL) similar to when Gmail came out and everybody migrated. So update update update! If you ditch the email user under your BOINC projects etc update it to your new address! Although I knew distributed computing was here to stay I had no idea we would be earning money from the work nor that I would be jelly reading a post on steemit from someone who was there when it all started too , just like me! Again congrats and mad respect!

Sort:  

I am still using the same e-mail address as in 1999 when I joined. Irony of it, it was free back then and now I have to pay "yearly subscription" for a mediocre service at best (at least when compared to Gmail). But of course, emotional value outweighs everything else in this case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57